Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
So good! Don't make it in a 8x8 pan. Make it in a 9x13 pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I can't really review the recipe as is as I didn't even attempt to try it as written based on all the reviews, though my 3 star rating was based on the fact that the changes I made were great. I could see it being dry using 2 cups of flour, so I reduced it to 1 1/2 cups, I used butter in the whole recipe, no shortening, more flavour! I added 1 tsp vanilla for flavour too. And it was a must to use brown sugar instead of white for the topping. The result: a beautifully moist and flavourful cake with delicious berries and a delightful crispy topping. With above mentioned changes, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
We loved this recipe! It sure made my kids happy. I used frozen blueberries thawed out, and that worked for us. Can't wait to make it again when I have fresh ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
This was easy to make and tasted great!! I was a little nervous with how thick the batter was but it cooked up just right!!! I have to say to everyone thinking of making this - please make it as stated and review it as so. It is not fair to change up the ingredients/amounts and then rate the recipe according to your changes. Rate it for what it is and THEN give your suggested changes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for church brunches and dessert any time. It has a crunchy top, is not too sweet, and everyone loves it. Cooking time should be increased to 40 minutes, as in other reviews, but don't go too long or the topping will be too crunchy! Have also made with raspberries. Suggestion to those who think it has too much flour: sift before you measure or use cake flour. This is a great recipe. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Town, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I made this recipe as directed, except my fruit was frozen. I had to leave it in the oven a little longer due to that fact. I found it to very tasty! Like a muffin only better! I will make this one a standby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Temples

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I had to bake this about 15 min. longer for some reason, but it turned out delicious and was gone in less than 24 hours. It makes a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Fowler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written and it was really good! It did take longer to cook (about 40 minutes). It did not burn or anything. We had it for breakfast the next morning and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Kline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made cake as directed but the crumb topping NEEDS to have brown sugar to give it more of a crumb/texture so: FOR THE TOPPING: ½ cup all-purpose flour, ½ cup light brown sugar, 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, ¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon, Pinch of salt, ¼ cup unsalted softened butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Doubled the recipe to make a 9x13 pan. An 8x8 pan of this yumminess would be lucky to last 24 hours around my family. Don't change a thing on the recipe. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lweberg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mazomanie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States