Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Have tried this recipe as written here but we were not satisfied because it was too dry. Anyway, after making some adjustments as fololows it is better for us: reduced the flour to 1-3/4 cups and substituted butter for shortening. Also used half sour cream and half milk. Served with blueberry sauce and whipped cream flavored with lemon juice and rind.............yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Made it tonight. It was great! My kids loved it and I didn't change the recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
So SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
this recipe is decent- I throw in extra blueberries if I have them, otherwise, I follow the recipe to the 't'. My big issue is that 375 for 25-30 minutes is not even close to enough time. I usually have to add SIGNIFICANT more - at least 30 minutes. I've checked my oven temp with a thermometer, so I do know the oven is correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Very good. I added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. almond extract. The additions made it excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Tasted great and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, and it was just OK. The ratings of this recipe gave me high hopes, but I didn't think to read the reviews... everyone seems to be rating it based on a recipe they have made up themselves based loosely on the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
This recipe was deeeeelicious! I will agree with some reviews - mine also took at least 15mins longer to cook than stated in the recipe, but as long as you keep an eye on it and don't let it cook too long, it turns out great. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
So delicious! I added about 1/2 cup more blueberries because I tend to like more of a fruit flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This is more like a cake. I followed the recipe just as written. I didn't add applesauce instead of shorting or or use half the flour to cut calories. Another reviewer said that these are key components to the recipe and I agree. Adding a dash of cinnamon or vanilla is one thing, but the fat and gluten is something that has to stay. With that said, the cake was good - not great, but good. The blueberries did not fall to the bottom like some reviews had issues with. The cake itself has just the right amount of sweetness. If you take off the topping it would be much better. The topping was paste like and very sweet, not crumbly. I spread it over the cake anyway and when I had my first bite I took the topping off. Way to much sweetness for one cake. Also - the cooking time if off. It took my cake 45 minutes to complete baking, not the 30 as suggested. To sum up - bake the cake for 45 minutes and skip the topping. It will be much better. It's still a keeper. Thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjsandy2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 939) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States