Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This is comparable to blueberry muffins but in coffeecake form. I made this recipe today, and made the To Die For Blueberry Muffins from this site last weekend. Both good, but I'd probably return to the muffin recipe. Same exact premise: muffin-like cake with a streusel topping. We actually thought this recipe had a rather bland base. Not much flavor at all. I also struggled with the thick batter, until I added a splash more of milk. Then I was able to fold in the blueberries. Another glitch was the baking time. According to the time suggested in this recipe, it wasn't even close to being done. Getting brown along the edges at 25 mins but raw batter in the middle. I lowered the temp per others' suggestions to 350, and it took a total of 50 mins. Overall it's good, but the muffin recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow, both delicious to taste and stunning to look at. I followed the directions almost to the letter with fabulous results. The only thing I did different is that I found the dough to be too stiff to easily fold in blueberries and I thought if I tried, they'd breakdown in the process. So instead, I spread the batter in my baking dish and then put all the blueberries on top and then carefully pressed them into the cake batter. I then sprinkled on the topping as the recipe says and the outcome was this beautiful blueberry and crumb topping. The blueberries that came through the topping were bubbling. It was almost too beautiful to cut in to. Fabulous recipe. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
The results were lovely but while mixing the ingredients I thought I must've made a mistake - it was such thick sticky dough! I could barely get the berries mixed in. I actually made the dough twice, convinced I mis-measured something first time around (I hadn't). It came out fine but I will trust other reviewers and decrease the flour amount a bit next time (it was a tad too dense). Might even add a few more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brookeeg
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Delicious!! I made it just as the recipe instructs...it was a hit at the Mother's Day brunch. I will surely be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Meh. it was ok. Followed the recipe exactly. I compared it to the To Die For Blueberry Muffins Recipe on here, and it wasn't nearly as impressive. YOU NEED to try that muffin recipe! it will blow your mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Really liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by staz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delicias, Chihuahua, Mexico
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I love it! It is sweet but not overload and you jam pack it with so much fresh fruit! Wash down with a glass of milk and your morning is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
as written, the cake part needs more flavor. The topping is too sweet and cinnamon-y. Wish there was more of a balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
GREAT! I used frozen blueberries and it took about twice as long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States