Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Turned out wonderful. For the cake I used butter, and added 2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 c sour cream. For the topping, I added 1/2 c chopped pecans and used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white. (tossing the blueberries with a Tbl spoon of flour as another reviewer suggested) . I baked it in a greased 9 in spring form pan. After 48 minutes it still wasn't done, so I baked it 10 more at 350, then let cool in the oven. The streausel formed a crunchy crust that tastes great and the cake is very moist and delicious. (forgot, I also used cake flour). will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELLEE74
Home Town: Richfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Make sure to cook longer than the 25-30 minutes listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
I've made this twice now, and love it! But I did cook it much longer than 30 min. I cooked it for a full 45 min. at 350 with a convection oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Fantastic. It is like a coffee cake. I put fresh blueberry glaze on top. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This recipe is excellent just as it's written. Very moist and the topping adds a 'coffee cake' like flavor. Great for a light dessert or even paired with coffee/tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NYSMILEZ
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Just made this and it came out delicious. I had two problems though - 1) the crumb topping recipe says to "sprinkle" - but the mixture was way too goopy for anything like that so I added in an extra 1/3 cup of oats and just spread evenly over the top. 2) had to add an extra 20 mins to the baking time because it definitely didnt look done after 25. I don't know why there are so many reviews that say it came out dry. Mine had a really nice delicate crumb, and it was just right. Also used fresh blueberries and had no problem stirring them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Love this blueberry buckle cake , yummy! One thing I will do next time is add a teaspoon of vanilla and a little more cinnamon, my family's suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Made exactly as described, except for using frozen blueberries tossed in a little bit of corn starch. The recipe took around 45 minutes to get solid in the middle, which was just ridiculous given the cook time on the recipe. When it was done and cooled, no one liked it. Today it was much better, having sat in the fridge overnight, but nothing special. The topping was the best part of it. It wasn't bad, but IMO there are a lot of tastier ways to use blueberries so I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
For one, this will make your house smell AMAZING. I don't like blueberries, but this makes me love them. The cake is moist, the top is crunchy with margerine or crusty with butter. (I made both) Only change I made was a teeny bit less flour (1/2 cup?) and I added vanilla. Also tossed the blueberries in flour before I put them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Great recipe, though I did add one extra tablespoon of shortening, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, a pinch of fresh grated nutmeg, and 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. I had Blackberries instead of Blueberries and had to cook it a little longer but it was absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 950) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States