Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
GREAT! I used frozen blueberries and it took about twice as long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieLady65
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for blueberries because I had some that I didn't want to go bad and I found this recipe. I made it today and followed the recipe as written except I added 1/2 cup shortening instead of 1/4 cup in error but I think it just made it more moist...also, I didn't have an 8X8 pan so the one I used was smaller and it took longer to get done but over all, we liked it. I will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Fine old Betty Crocker recipe - I still have the book! My mother made it often growing up. I typically have two substitutions - buttermilk instead of milk and butter instead of shortening. It is great as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I got really sick of people rating this based on their original creations. No vanilla extract, no extra milk, no extra stuff. I made this based only on the original instructions: The original recipe makes a crispy bread-like product. Unless you get a good spoonfull of blueberries, the blueberry flavor doesn't come through. The cake is dry and not very sweet. I might try to cook this in a new way, taking the suggestions given, but on it's own it's not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I tried this for the first time last night. Saw it on foodnetwork.Husband and I have standing rule. When we make a new recipe we make as is. No changes! It turned out perfect.Had to use frozen berries and cook longer but still perfect. Next time I make it I will change just a few things. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castor, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I had a bunch of blueberries I needed to use up. They started to get soft and shrivel so i wanted to try something differnt from pancakes or muffins and this recipe is perfect for that! I didn't have any shortening on hand, so i used yogurt butter to try and make it more healthy. Per the suggestions of others, I also used 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour (different from regular whole wheat flour) and 1C of white flour, and it came out great. By accident i put in 3/4 cup of 2% milk instead of 1/2 cup, so i added a little extra flour to make up for it, and it came out a moist blueberry cake. I also read from someon else's review and used 1.5tsp of almond extract. YUM! Definitely a keeper. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe read, and while the flavor is very nice, I won't make it again. It's entirely too sweet, especially for a coffeecake. Like other reviewers said, it takes at least an hour at 350 degrees to bake - bake it at a higher temp and the edges crisp while the center is raw batter. When it finally was baked through, the texture was still heavy and thick. I prefer a somewhat crumbly cake. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I doubled this recipe and put into bundt pan it was superb :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a good easy recipe. I personally think its a pinch salty, but otherwise a great dessert or sweet breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States