Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
as written, the cake part needs more flavor. The topping is too sweet and cinnamon-y. Wish there was more of a balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
GREAT! I used frozen blueberries and it took about twice as long to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookieLady65
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I was looking for a recipe for blueberries because I had some that I didn't want to go bad and I found this recipe. I made it today and followed the recipe as written except I added 1/2 cup shortening instead of 1/4 cup in error but I think it just made it more moist...also, I didn't have an 8X8 pan so the one I used was smaller and it took longer to get done but over all, we liked it. I will make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Fine old Betty Crocker recipe - I still have the book! My mother made it often growing up. I typically have two substitutions - buttermilk instead of milk and butter instead of shortening. It is great as written though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I tried this for the first time last night. Saw it on foodnetwork.Husband and I have standing rule. When we make a new recipe we make as is. No changes! It turned out perfect.Had to use frozen berries and cook longer but still perfect. Next time I make it I will change just a few things. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Castor, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This is an awesome recipe. I had a bunch of blueberries I needed to use up. They started to get soft and shrivel so i wanted to try something differnt from pancakes or muffins and this recipe is perfect for that! I didn't have any shortening on hand, so i used yogurt butter to try and make it more healthy. Per the suggestions of others, I also used 1/2 cup of whole wheat pastry flour (different from regular whole wheat flour) and 1C of white flour, and it came out great. By accident i put in 3/4 cup of 2% milk instead of 1/2 cup, so i added a little extra flour to make up for it, and it came out a moist blueberry cake. I also read from someon else's review and used 1.5tsp of almond extract. YUM! Definitely a keeper. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe read, and while the flavor is very nice, I won't make it again. It's entirely too sweet, especially for a coffeecake. Like other reviewers said, it takes at least an hour at 350 degrees to bake - bake it at a higher temp and the edges crisp while the center is raw batter. When it finally was baked through, the texture was still heavy and thick. I prefer a somewhat crumbly cake. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I doubled this recipe and put into bundt pan it was superb :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a good easy recipe. I personally think its a pinch salty, but otherwise a great dessert or sweet breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 963) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States