Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe read, and while the flavor is very nice, I won't make it again. It's entirely too sweet, especially for a coffeecake. Like other reviewers said, it takes at least an hour at 350 degrees to bake - bake it at a higher temp and the edges crisp while the center is raw batter. When it finally was baked through, the texture was still heavy and thick. I prefer a somewhat crumbly cake. This isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I doubled this recipe and put into bundt pan it was superb :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a good easy recipe. I personally think its a pinch salty, but otherwise a great dessert or sweet breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Excellent as it is! I am not big on making adjustments - this is fool proof and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I tried this recipe last night. It required much more milk than the recipe stated. It came out very dense and bland. This definitely was not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBONY3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Road Town, Tortola, British Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I am only giving this recipe a 3-star coz my cake texture turned out dry and rather hard, despite sticking to its original 2-cup of all purpose flour, milk and exact shortening ratio like what the original recipe had called for. The batter was so thick that the air bubbles in-between the berries cannot be deflated and I regretted against following the rest of reviewer to lower the flour ratio to 1 1/2 cup instead. The 3-star is rated for its beautiful presentation and delicious strussel topping. However, I will not do it again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilyLoves2Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I only had frozen blueberries so It had to cook for about 10 more minutes. My husband liked it alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Made this for the first time two days ago. My husband loved it and is already asking me to make it again. I followed the recipe exactly as written, although I had considered reducing the amount of blueberries. So glad I chose not to, the berries made it so moist. The topping made it just perfect. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Used 3/4 blackberries and 1/4 blueberries. I eyeballed the butter and sugar so that may make for off results but so far so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States