Blueberry Buckle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is delicious. Not too sweet. My husband said he could eat the whole pan. I made the recipe exactly as written except for adding 10 minutes to the baking time. The batter was very stiff. I did not add extra milk. I carefully folded the blueberries in and then spread the mix into the pan. Will make this again and will probably add a bit of vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I have made many times and people love it. I have also made it in a 11x8 pan because I already had one in the oven in the 8x8 pan. Both come out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLIDAWN
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This cake was very moist and I loved the crumble on top! I made a few changes: instead of using shortening I used butter. For the 1/2 cup milk I used 1/4 cup milk and 1/4 cup half and half. For the berries I used 1 cup blueberries and 1 cup strawberries, plus they were frozen. For the Cinnamon in the crumble topping, I increased it to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLIDAWN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Keene, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Delicious exactly as made. Great flavor and just the right amount of sweetness. The only thing I noticed is that it needed a longer cooking time. Make sure center is not giggly before taking out. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Incredible recipe, tastes fantastic. Do yourself a favor and make this 1 small addition, you will not regret it. Add 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp almond extract. I have made this recipe 2 times this week for 2 different groups and I am not kidding when I tell you I had 10 requests for me to make them and sell them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Waters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Cake was very moist and tasty, but I found the topping to be too hard - would prefer more of a crumbly texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've made this twice and both times have had to increase the bake time from 25-30 minutes to 40-45. Other than that, absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy to make and great cake. I made a few changes. 1) substituted brown for white sugar in the cake itself. 2) instead of shortening and butter I used applesauce to help lower the fat content. It added a little to the cooking time but not bad. And the change in the topping made it more of gooey goodness instead of a crumble. But everyone seemed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Delicious, no-fail way to use fresh blueberries! I made this for a 4th of July party and many people went back for seconds. It was GONE!This one is going in the recipe box. The only modification I made was to the bake temp and time. For an 8x8 pan, I baked at 350 for 40 minutes and it was perfect. For 12 muffins, I used liners and filled 3/4 full and baked at 350 for 30 minutes and was just as delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This blueberry buckle turned out wonderful! I made the recipe exactly except used half brown sugar and half white sugar for the topping. The cake itself was very moist, bursting with blueberries, soft but fluffy. The crumbs were tender and the cake cut very well into squares and held together well. I used fresh picked blueberries and it was just perfect. Will be baking this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 936) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Chef John's Blackberry Buckle

See how to make a simple, old-fashioned blackberry buckle.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States