Blueberry Breakfast Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
WAY too much sugar! This could have been a 5 star blueberry topping, but the amount of sugar called for (1/2 cup) is just entirely too sweet. I had to keep adding water, cornstarch, OJ...anything to make it not taste like candy! ICK! Finally, I adjusted it by adding more water and cornstarch and a pinch of salt and it tasted much better. In my opinion, sugar should not be the main star of such a wonderful fruit, the blueberries should! By not being so sweet, makes it a classier topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
simply amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Excellent. I covered the bottom of a non-stick skillet with frozen berries & sprinkled on about 2-3 T. of sugar. I mixed the cornstarch and water, poured over the berries and sugar and heated to boiling. It was a little too thick, so I added a bit more water to thin it out. Tasted for sweetness. Delicious! Served over waffles and topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Execeptional taste! Quick and easy to prepare. I also substituted 1/2 cup splenda for 1/2 cup of the sugar with no change in the great taste. Thanks Ellen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
exactly what I wanted to compliment belgian waffles on the inaugural run of my new waffle maker...i only give it 4 stars because it looks weird when it cools or is chilled, and it does not reheat well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss.Starr
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Perfect with waffles. I added a squeeze of fresh lemon to add a tiny bit of tartness. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss.Starr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent - I'm keeping this recipe for times when I'm looking for something special or for ordinary breakfast pancakes to "make" them special. This is first rate wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I had a similar blueberry compote at an upscale restaurant served with grilled salmon. It was awesome and I plan to use this the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Easy and awesome! Added a little extra corn starch as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Very simple, but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States