Blueberry Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This was exactly what I was craving! Left out the lemon and walnuts, added a 1/2 teaspoon of salt and used turbinado sugar for the topping to give it extra crunch. Mmmmm.... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I made this for a Saturday morning treat with fresh blueberries. I incorporated the suggestions of 1/4 tsp. salt, 1 heaping TBSP of sour cream, and tossing the blueberries in sugar. It turned out fantastic and I will definately make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
For my family's taste, this recipe needs much more sugar to balance out the tartness of the blueberries. It is scarcely sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Bake in 8x8 pan for more cake texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maturoje

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This result was a bit dry for me, & the batter needs just a pinch of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I made bakery size muffins with this recipe using fresh blueberries, and did not change a thing. My family now asks for these almost every weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good cake. I forgot the salt (no big deal) and tossed the slightly wet berries into some flour/sugar mixture to keep them from sinking. Added 1 Tbsp. fat free sour cream. Used pecans and orange zest instead of walnuts and lemon zest. It was moist and tasty. Might use a bit more sugar in the batter or more crumb topping next time. Not overly sweet - although that's not a bad thing. Very tasty! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Very good cake. Be careful the topping gets soggy if you leave it in aluminum foil if its still warm. Wait until it's totally cool before wrapping in aluminum foil. I added 1/2tsp salt to mine. Next time I would try sweetening the berries (like soaking them in sugar water overnight) because they were a little sour. Good recipe overall will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktylizbth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
My batter was very very thick. I thought I did something wrong but baked it anyway. Turned out good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This recipe was really good...Well, with a couple of modifications. I doubled the amount of lemon peel and I made it into cupcakes. I did not sprinkle sugar on top. I baked them at 375 degrees for 20 minutes. I then let them cool and put a thin icing glaze on top. They are great for school and work lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natacha Pellerin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States