Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used fresh blueberries from my garden, added 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white. Before adding my blueberries, I coated them in a small amount of flour to keep their shape when adding to the batter. I hand stirred in the berries. My batter was very thick! This bread rises high due to the amount of baking powder used, so make sure your oven racks are spaced apart well. I made 3 mini loaf pans and baked for 25-35 minutes. Very moist and flavorful!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
This is a great recipe! I made 4 loaves in 2 days because it disappeared so fast. I left out the nuts and increased the berries to 2 cups. I also added an extra 1/2 cup of sugar as the b. berries I had were tart. I used standard loaf pans(2) and baked 45mins Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This bread is pretty good. Pretty mild in flavor though so next time I think I'll add cinnamon and/or vanilla. To save on fat and calories I cut sugar to 3/4 c.; used 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour + 2 c. all-purpose flour; used 2T applesauce + 1T vege. oil; used 2 c. blueberries and omitted nuts. Baked in a 9x5 pan and it took forever to bake--about 1 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Because of the reviews of this being a bland bread, I used orange juice instead of the milk, added a teaspoon each of vanilla and cinnamon and added maybe 1/2 cup more blueberries. It definitely wasn't bland then, but rather moist and flavorful, with a good texture that was somewhere inbetween a bread and cake. The crust got really crunchy (which I liked) but I ended up baking it for nearly 90 minutes before it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
My family really enjoyed this! I was glad that I followed the suggestion of others and added vanilla and cinnamon! I just love this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2002
I left out the nuts because I didn't have any and I topped the bread with a bit of cin. sugar. This is like a muffin in bread form and not too sweet. Recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
This bread went over great at the daycare center where I work. I made a few modifications by adding more blueberries and using 25% less flour per serving. I also added larger amount of cinnamon into batter. I made a topping with butter, cinnamon, and sugar and sprinkled on bread right after I pulled from oven. Great bread recipe. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I tried this bread with a 9" loaf pan and it was a disaster. It burned on top but was still batter in the center. Then I tried it with the 12" as recommended and it was perfect! Tastes just like muffins but in a loaf. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. As others have suggested, it is also good toasted and with butter. My kids love it too. I would suggest adding cinnamon or other flavorings if you prefer more flavorful breads, although we like it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
This bread is so good! It has a good flavor and tastes like a blueberry muffin, but in a loaf. Just put a little butter on it and it is delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
I omitted the walnuts from my recipe. I found this recipe to be very basic and nothing special. I probably won't make it again. The taste was o.k. but nothing to write home about. A good recipe if you want a basic and plain bread with blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States