Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for!! It is definitely NOT a cake type bread, which is why I chose it. I used butter instead of oil and replaced 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat. I upped the berries to 1 1/2 cups and didn't use nuts. It did take an extra 15 minutes to back (75 mins total) but was totally worth the wait! Awesome on its own but great toasted with butter, cream cheese or even peanut butter. Thanks! I'll will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Really good, but I wanted it to be a little sweeter. I'll definitely make it again, but will add some extra sugar as others have suggested and also some vanilla. I added about 1/2 more blueberries because I had them on hand. I also topped it with a very basic crumb recipe that gave it that little extra something special. Crumb recipe: 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 flour and @ 1/8 - 1/4 cup softened butter (should be kinda moist after mixed). Mixed it in my mixer until consistency of large pieces of sand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This was my first attempt at any kind of bread, and WOW it turned out great! I followed the recipe exactly except I added a little more blueberries (I had about a half a cup more than called for) and I sprinkled the top of the loaf with sugar before baking. Great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
It tasted very good. I warmed the milk a little bit in the microwave so that it took less time to bake in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hangzhou, Zhejiang Province, China
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kleerae
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Followed the recipe exactly. Next time I'll add more sugar, vanilla extract, maybe a dash of cinnamon. It's pretty bland, but its ok with some butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleerae

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was a good, basic recipe. It was very easy to throw together. It wasn't as tasty as my Nana's blueberry bread, but she didn't have a recipe...she just threw a pinch of this and a handful of that together. The only changes I made were to increase the blueberries to 2 cups, and omit the nuts. I baked it in a 1.5 quart glass loaf pan for 60 minutes and it came out perfectly. It was gone in one day, so I would say it was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
This was not very good-with a strange aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
Hmm...guess I was a little disappointed with this one. It wasn't sweet enough for me. Tasted more like dry blueberry cornbread. Would do a few things differently. Gave it 3 stars because well, if I'd been expecting blueberry cornbread,....it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraLye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I used Splenda instead of sugar and added extra blueberries. My kids really liked it. It wasnt overly sweet, but I expected that from previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Not quite what I was expecting, but not bad at all. I used applesauce in place of the oil, a few more blueberries than what was called for and some mango flavored rum in place of the milk. Baked in mini loaf pans thought this had really good flavor. Different and interesting, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States