Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was a good recipe overall. I made some changes to it as did most everyone else. First I used 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour and 1/2 white flour. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar. A dash of cinnamon and a splash of vanilla. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 vanilla stonyfield yogurt. Next time I'll add more milk and yogurt, because the batter was very stiff. I have a picky toddler who doesn't eat anything unless it is in bread form. So the healthier I can make it for him the better I feel. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sammysmommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I just had a piece fresh out of the oven w/ a little butter, mmmmm perfection. I took another reviewer's tip and baked this in 2 standard 9x5 loaf pans for 45 min. Came out beautiful! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This recipe was ok. The bread came out more like a dense cake. I was hoping for a consistency along the lines of banana bread, but the flavor was good. My kids really liked it and that is who I made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is a nice bread, but it is a tad dry. Thanks to the reviewers who suggested adding 1 tsp each of cinnamon and vanilla. I think that really saved it from being bland. The cinnamon blends beautifully with the blueberries. I added about 1/2 a cup more berries and baked this for 40 minutes in two smaller bread pans. It raises nicely but will need to be warmed up to eat due to the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I loved this bread. It is a very simple recipe so I understand why some thought it was 'bland.' I liked it simple but I did add some vanilla. I made it in a traditional bread loaf pan so I used the serving option to convert to 9 servings instead of 12 and the bread came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna1982

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
This was good right out of the oven. After a couple of hours it started to crumble. My husband said it reminded him of a corn bread. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I loved this recipe!!! I made a few modifications and it came out great. I added the zest of 1 orange, and about 3 tbsp of juice as well as 2 tbsp of brown sugar. I also used pecans instead of walnuts (i toasted them slightly before using them). It came out light and bursting with great blueberry flavor with a hint of orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
DELICIOUS! I used fresh blueberries from my garden, added 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg, used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 white. Before adding my blueberries, I coated them in a small amount of flour to keep their shape when adding to the batter. I hand stirred in the berries. My batter was very thick! This bread rises high due to the amount of baking powder used, so make sure your oven racks are spaced apart well. I made 3 mini loaf pans and baked for 25-35 minutes. Very moist and flavorful!!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
This is exactly what I was looking for!! It is definitely NOT a cake type bread, which is why I chose it. I used butter instead of oil and replaced 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat. I upped the berries to 1 1/2 cups and didn't use nuts. It did take an extra 15 minutes to back (75 mins total) but was totally worth the wait! Awesome on its own but great toasted with butter, cream cheese or even peanut butter. Thanks! I'll will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Really good, but I wanted it to be a little sweeter. I'll definitely make it again, but will add some extra sugar as others have suggested and also some vanilla. I added about 1/2 more blueberries because I had them on hand. I also topped it with a very basic crumb recipe that gave it that little extra something special. Crumb recipe: 1/2 brown sugar, 1/2 flour and @ 1/8 - 1/4 cup softened butter (should be kinda moist after mixed). Mixed it in my mixer until consistency of large pieces of sand. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States