Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by kelly o
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I took the suggestion and added OJ instead of milk and it turned out great ! I also added vanilla and a crunchy topping before baking and I am glad that I did. I am not sure that it would have been as good without it. Here's the topping: Crumb together 1/3 cup flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/4 cup butter and 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly o

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This was very good and quite moist. Don't forget to coat the blueberries with flour so they don't sink to the bottom of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was a good recipe, I liked it. Good flavor and texture. I did make a few changes. I reduced sugar to 3/4 cup (or slightly less) and used turbinado (raw) sugar. It was still plenty sweet. I used 2 tbsp. applesauce and 1 tbsp. butter in place of vegetable oil. I used spelt flour instead of white/wheat and reduced the amount slightly since it is heavier (about 3.5 cups). I used almond milk instead of regular milk. I added a tsp. or so of vanilla and a tiny bit of cinnamon. I wish I had had more or better blueberries for it! Will make again with more blueberries. The whole family liked it and it came out nice and crispy/chewy outside and soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
This was a yummy quick bread recipe. I used 2 cups of fresh blueberries (I had a bunch), 2 tsp vanilla, a pinch of cinnamon, a pinch of fresh ground nutmeg, and added a streusel topping. I have to have streusel on my muffins and quick breads ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Very good. I substituted 1/2 the flour with wheat. I sprinkled vanilla sugar on top before baking. I made 4 mini loafs. Good with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is a very good recipe for fresh blueberries or frozen. If you use frozen be sure to drain them after they thaw. I had a problem getting the center to bake completely so I always make this is the mini loaf pans. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELA96

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Meh. I made this bread exactly as the recipe indicated, except I used almond milk instead of real milk. This bread was rather dry and boring. I wouldn't bother to make it again without some modifications, such as adding some applesauce or something to make it more moist, and adding a bit more flavor - lemon zest and vanilla extract, perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
The recipe is excellent; however, I believe that the next time I make it, I'll add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I would like to receive any comments on this thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I left out the nuts and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and it was fabulous! My family loved it because it wasn't overly sweet and the blueberry taste was so prominent. I'll be making this one in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Bracknell, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States