Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This bread is delicious. I served slices of it this morning with a nice hot bowl of oatmeal. Perfect for those winter mornings when your children have to walk to school in the cold. I substituted the oil with apple sauce to cut down on the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
It came out very bland. I just wish I had read the suggestions beforehand and added something to bring out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Benning, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I would LOVE to make this bread! But are the instructions missing the amount of shortening or is it just me?? Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sushi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fabulous :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .:-Amber.Marie-:.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Martinsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
The morning after the bread was much better but a little dry. I added brown sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, and 1/2 cup OJ. I will make again but with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Haugh.Sweet
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used your recipe in my bread machine using it's "Batter Breads" setting. It came out beautifully! I waited until right before the bake cycle to fold in the blueberries so they stayed intact. Not only is it moist and flavorful, it looks pretty, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I thought it was quite dry and could have used more sugar. I will try it again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
It was an ok bread, not our favorites. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by everythingwithyou
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I was looking for something to do with blueberries that wasn't a cobbler or pie - specifically, I wanted banana-blueberry bread. This recipe, with a couple tweaks, came out well. I used brown sugar in place of the white and replaced half the flour with whole wheat (and added another half tsp of baking powder to balance it). I completely omitted the oil, and added a lot more fruit - 3/4 cup of mashed banana and another half cup of berries. (The first time I made this, the berries sunk; the second time, I coated them with flour and they floated nicely.) I also added 1 tsp vanilla, although the blueberries have a very strong flavor. Replacing the oil with such a different amount of banana, I was a little worried about the consistency, but the bread rose properly and was neither too wet nor dry. A bit chewier than most breads, but especially after a day or so, it seemed perfectly normal. Very nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by everythingwithyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This bread is very good, I did put 2 tsp of vanilla extract and I doubled the berries so it was full of blueberries!! This is a great base to start with!! Swap out blueberries for raspberries or chocolate chips, add cinnamon and raisins for raisin bread, maybe lemon extract and poppyseeds, or orange juice and dried cranberries!! it's limitless and a great starting point for many breads!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States