Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I made 4 mini loaves with this recipe. I also Added real maple syrup in the batter (and reduced the sugar by 1/4 cup)and drizzled some on the top before baking it. It was fantastic. **Oh, I used almond milk to make it dairy free and it came out great**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I found this recipe to be easy and fun, the bread tastes good, I added a bit of vanilla extract and left out the nuts, can also be baked in a muffin pan easily for individual bread loafs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I had a large amount of blueberries that needed to be used. First I made To Die For Blueberry Muffins on AR that I had made previously and added an additional cup of blueberries. That is a really fabulous recipe. I still had quite a few loose berries and a plastic bag full that had been beat-up some and were sitting in alot of blueberry juice. I decided to double this recipe and used one 9 x 5 loaf pan and one 8 x 4 loaf pan. I subbed some applesauce for most of the oil and stirred some greek yogurt into the applesauce/oil mixture, as well. Because of other reviews I decided to dump both the smushed-up blueberries and the loose ones into the batter at the end. With all the extra juice the batter was not stiff or hard to stir. It did make the batter blue, but once baked the color wasn't noticeable. I didn't have nuts, so didn't add, but did add a couple of teaspoons vanilla. This came out really moist and sweet and super delicious with the large amount of blueberries. Because of the unsweetened applesauce it was sweeter than it would have been without. It was probably an additional 1 and a half cups of blueberries. I froze the large loaf and the smaller one is quickly disappearing. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Turned out lousy, added a little bit of extra water & oil because it was way to thick to get it in the pan, turned out hard on the outside & gooey on the inside !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Made this bread for the Sunday school class at church without the walnuts. People went back for second helpings. Had no left overs at all! Made some more recently for my husband, son, and I! The Blueberry bread deserves a thumbs up, and five stars for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I thought this would be more of a dessert bread, but it is much drier than I'd hoped. The other reviews about it being like a muffin but in bread form were true, but it's even drier than that in my opinion. If I make this again, I'm going to experiment with other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I usually make a recipe as is the first time, but this time I used a few of the hints in the other reviews and I'm so glad I did! I used 1 c. white sugar and 1/2 c. of brown sugar (next time will use a bit less), added some vanilla and cinnamon. Baked it in a 12 in. loaf pan for about 55 min. No walnuts...didn't have any, but it's fine without. Tastes like a zucchini bread, but with blueberries and not quite as dense...just as I hoped it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Really good recipe! I used 2 tbsp of homemade applesauce, 1 tbsp of oil. I also cut the sugar down to 3/4 of a cup since I there is a little sugar in the applesauce. I used 2 cups of blueberries and left the walnuts out and threw in a tsp of vanilla and cinnamon. I split it into to normal pans and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
In making this bread, I added orange zest with the blueberries and topped it with an orange sugar glaze ... and it was delicious. It took a little extra time to bake because my pan was a nit smaller than it called for in the recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
very simple and delicious recipe. read it at 7am, started making it soon after and trying a sample right out of the oven as I am reviewing this. Thank you Barbabara. One modification I did make was to cut down on the sugar a little bit (little less than 1 cup), but I think I will cut it down a little more next time. Can't wait for the kids to wake up to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States