Blueberry Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
With the bit of "doctoring" I did, we'd give it 4.5 stars. I used 1.5 cups of Splenda instead of 1 cup of white sugar. The mixture was VERY thick and dough like... I continued adding milk until it thinned out a bit. Then added a 1 lb bag of thawed- frozen blueberries. I sprinkled/poured dark brown sugar on top... it carmelized a bit... yum! I cooked it for 50 minutes in a 9" loaf pan and a little extra batter in an individual size baking dish... that was the "test loaf." It was delicious... and I'll make it many times in the future. (With all the brown sugar on top... I'm glad I used splenda in the recipe- cut down on at least a bit of the calories.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
I really liked this recipe. One hopes that Mrs Zuberi who said she added 4 tsps of baking SODA has been told that it was baking POWDER instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
My 2-year old at the entire loaf so I guess it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
A very easy and tasty way to use some of the wild blueberries that grow around our home! The loaves came out nicely shaped and came out of the pans in a snap when lined with greased parchment paper. I'll be freezing some for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2003
I tried this bread with a 9" loaf pan and it was a disaster. It burned on top but was still batter in the center. Then I tried it with the 12" as recommended and it was perfect! Tastes just like muffins but in a loaf. I sprinkled cinnamon and sugar on top. As others have suggested, it is also good toasted and with butter. My kids love it too. I would suggest adding cinnamon or other flavorings if you prefer more flavorful breads, although we like it as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Made it on Good Friday for my staff for breakfast - they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
I added extra blueberries, it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
Not bad! It was a little dry, but that problem was solved quickly with a smear of butter. It did stick to the bottom of the pan, though. I did as instructed and tried to take the bread out of the pan before it cooled, but it nonetheless broke apart. I quickly placed the part stuck on the bottom of the pan back on the loaf and it sliced pretty well after sitting with my "repairs" a few minutes. The taste was decent enough, but a little bland. I think it could use a little more depth of flavor, not necessarily spice, but perhaps a fruit addition? I have seen several recipes combining the berries with lemon, perhaps that would be something to try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPS6294

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
i'm sorry to say this but i'm afraid the two loaves sitting in my kitchen will have to go to the birds, I really dont know what everyone is talking about, this bread turned out terrible, it tasted aweful too... I followed the recipe but since I didnt have a large loaf pan I made two 9x5 loaves. the loaves themselves turned out very flat, despite having so much baking soda, which i could taste! Although i'm not a fan of very sweet breads, this recipe could have used a little more. the one mistake i did make was not reading the reviews like i usually do before trying out any recipe. Maybe adding vanilla or cinnamon would have maded it taste better but i don't think i'll be wasting my time trying this one out again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Tastes just like blueberry muffins but half the work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Blueberries and zucchini are married perfectly in these summertime loaves!

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States