Blueberry Boy Bait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This cake was fantastic! Very light and fluffy texture, and the blueberries and crumb mixture add great flavor. I followed the directions exactly, except I used a bundt pan and added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the reserved crumb mixture. Mixing the batter for 3 minutes and the egg whites for about 2-3 will prevent the blueberries from sinking. Next time I will put the blueberries and crumb mixture in the middle of the cake rather than on top. I didn't think this one through and only realized after the cake came out of the oven that, because I used a bundt pan, what is supposed to be the top of the cake is now the bottom. No matter, we still ate the whole thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was delicious. I made two small adjustments by adding a bit of cinnamon per the other reviews, and using an 8x8 pan. The cake took about 10 more minutes to finish. It's important to mix the egg whites as described to keep the cake light and moist. That may also be what helps keep the blueberries from sinking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was amazing. I had a lot of blueberries left over from last season and this was perfect to use some of them up. i probably used about 3 cups instead of the one and added some cinnamon to the topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Well received at a brunch. Not dense, which I liked. Yum! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Fabulous! I substituted soy milk and splenda blend and was too lazy to separate and beat eggs. I added chopped walnuts and it came out great, no sinking of berries or topping. My husband loved this and it's so easy to make. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly as written and was disappointed. It did taste great, but all the berries and topping sunk in like alot of the other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was very tasty but a bit too sweet for a breakfast food... more of a dessert. The kids were begging for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wynter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bothell, Washington, USA
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
It was great! I made it exactly as the recipe said and topped it with Whipped cream. Everybody had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is better than Bluberry Buckle because there is no shortening in it. I purposefully coated the berries with flour so they would sink. This is moist and delicious. I had the same issue that another reviewer did, the cake puffed up and the topping became incorporated but it still tasted great. I love it just as it is but I may cut the sugar down next time to save some calories. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I coppied this recipe about two years ago and have made it over and over. Moist and yummy. Great with a meal or served as a snack. Sometimes I add just a few raspberries for a change in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States