Blueberry Boy Bait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This was very good, very moist. Someone at work made it, and everyone got a kick out of the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
I have been making this for 20 years or so and it's fabulous. The original recipe came from a 1954 Pillsbury Bakeoff booklet. (yard sale find) It was 2nd place in the Junior Category. The only change I make is add more blueberries. I have even accidently forgotten to reserve the topping, and it's turned out fine. Delicious and addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I used a pint of blueberries, and threw on a few sliced strawberries as well - hubby loved it, declared it a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was awesome! I did add about 1/2 cup more blueberries because we love blueberries. Also added about 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to topping. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very good. Could add additional 1/2 cup of berries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Very good but my family thought it tasted a lot like coffee cake and they needed a glass of milk to wash it down. I followed the recipe except I added another 1/2 cup of blueberries and 1 teas. of vanilla and 1 teas. cinnamon for more flavor. Baked it for 45 min. and it was just right. Next time I am going to make a blueberry recipe that doesn't call for quite as much work. It took more than 20 min. of prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Excellent cake. I followed the recipe pretty well as far as ingredients go - except that I had only one whole egg and not quite a cup of blueberries. So, I put in the whole egg, and I added cut up strawberries with the blueberries for the topping. Cake rose well - no problem. Bit of a problem getting it out of the pan intact, though. That's the reason for docking one star. Next time I'll line the pan with parchment paper to lift it out easily. I drizzled an icing sugar frosting over the cake while still warm. Couldn't resist taking a small piece off before it's even cooled even though I'm taking it to a potluck dinner tonight. Tastes great. Will make again using same method (using only one egg and not separating it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
There will be a line up for this delightful cake...I made it for my husband to take to work with him. The new title of "Blueberry Crew Bait" has been adopted as they liked it so much they actually did their work in hopes for more!!!! I also made it with fresh strawberries and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I held onto this recipe for a couple years before I pulled it out and made it....wish I would have made it earlier. It was wonderful! The best part is that it can be a snack, a breakfast pastry, served warm with ice cream, taken to a picnic, or just served alone like cake. I did add a bit more sugar with the crumble topping, you have to judge how sweet your berries are. Can't wait to try it with some fresh black berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabby528

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States