Blueberry Boy Bait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very good, moist, not sweet, great for breakfast or brunch, can be make a day or two ahead of time, this is a great recipe for blueberry fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
THis was so delicious! And it turned out perfectly for my potluck! Big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This cake was delicious! Everybody loved it at the office. I took the advice of other readers and made the following changes: 1. Added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and lemon zest (approx 3/4-1tsp), 2. Used approx 2 cups frozen blueberries that were almost completely thawed, 3. Mixed batter for 4 minutes, and 4. Added 1 tsp cinnamon to the topping mix. My blueberries did not sink because after thawing, I dried them with a paper towel and coated them lightly with flour. I then gently placed them on top of the cake batter. This cake was moist, light, and the tartness of the blueberries balanced very well with the sweetness of the cake. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Not bad!! I liked how simple and not overly sweet this recipe is. I unfortunately experienced the same trouble as a few others with the blueberries sinking. DO NOT follow the reviewer who suggested coating them in sugar to prevent that--it only made the blueberries heavier and more apt to sink! I would, however, toss them in the flour IF they are fresh and dry. Any moisture will collect too much flour and defeat the purpose. Anyway, I will try these again and see with my new mixer if I can get those peaks stiffer to keep the blues from sinking. The rest of it was yummy though, a great breakfast option for my easily bored husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Easy and delicious!! I must admit I thought it was going to be a "crumble" style cake so I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the oven :) I used icing sugar and cinnamon instead of flour when I greased the bowl...very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I cannot say enough about this recipe! It is awesome! Every time I make it people ask for the recipe! I Love It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I followed others' advice and added more blueberries and made more crumbled topping as well. Turned out fabulous! I think it tasted better when the cake cools completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I used a whole 8oz bag of frozen blueberries (defrosted, of course) and added a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on top and it was just soooooo good! Definitely a crowd-pleaser! :) (p.s. my hubby kept saying that it wasn't cooked all the way, but it's just the egg whites -- they're *supposed* to be kinda gooey) -- UPDATE: 7/24/06 -- I just made this again for my extended family (twice)... the first time I used fresh (dry) blueberries and they didn't sink but I came to the conclusion that I actually liked them to sink. The second time I used fresh (wet) blueberries and it was perfect... er... except for my mistaking the oregano for cinnamon! Yep, that's right, I sprinkled oregano on top. When I realized my mistake (after banging my head on the pantry door a few times) I doubled up on the cinnamon and added a sprinkling of sugar. It was still yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Excellent dessert, very light and high. I added more blueberries (fresh, low bush). A perfect dessert to bring to a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I got a bunch of blueberries on sale, planning to make blueberry pie, but I didn't want to make pie crust, so I chose this instead! I'm SO glad I did because this was delicious. It barely made it through the evening. I had the last piece for breakfast. My mom enjoyed it so much that she got a copy of the recipe from me. Only thing I would change is that it could use more blueberries. This is SO good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States