Blueberry Boy Bait Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I loved this recipe, very good. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
Very good, moist, not sweet, great for breakfast or brunch, can be make a day or two ahead of time, this is a great recipe for blueberry fans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
THis was so delicious! And it turned out perfectly for my potluck! Big hit with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINNABUNNY09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This cake was delicious! Everybody loved it at the office. I took the advice of other readers and made the following changes: 1. Added 1 1/2 tsp vanilla and lemon zest (approx 3/4-1tsp), 2. Used approx 2 cups frozen blueberries that were almost completely thawed, 3. Mixed batter for 4 minutes, and 4. Added 1 tsp cinnamon to the topping mix. My blueberries did not sink because after thawing, I dried them with a paper towel and coated them lightly with flour. I then gently placed them on top of the cake batter. This cake was moist, light, and the tartness of the blueberries balanced very well with the sweetness of the cake. I will definitely make this again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
Not bad!! I liked how simple and not overly sweet this recipe is. I unfortunately experienced the same trouble as a few others with the blueberries sinking. DO NOT follow the reviewer who suggested coating them in sugar to prevent that--it only made the blueberries heavier and more apt to sink! I would, however, toss them in the flour IF they are fresh and dry. Any moisture will collect too much flour and defeat the purpose. Anyway, I will try these again and see with my new mixer if I can get those peaks stiffer to keep the blues from sinking. The rest of it was yummy though, a great breakfast option for my easily bored husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
Easy and delicious!! I must admit I thought it was going to be a "crumble" style cake so I was pleasantly surprised when I opened the oven :) I used icing sugar and cinnamon instead of flour when I greased the bowl...very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
I cannot say enough about this recipe! It is awesome! Every time I make it people ask for the recipe! I Love It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I followed others' advice and added more blueberries and made more crumbled topping as well. Turned out fabulous! I think it tasted better when the cake cools completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! I used a whole 8oz bag of frozen blueberries (defrosted, of course) and added a sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on top and it was just soooooo good! Definitely a crowd-pleaser! :) (p.s. my hubby kept saying that it wasn't cooked all the way, but it's just the egg whites -- they're *supposed* to be kinda gooey) -- UPDATE: 7/24/06 -- I just made this again for my extended family (twice)... the first time I used fresh (dry) blueberries and they didn't sink but I came to the conclusion that I actually liked them to sink. The second time I used fresh (wet) blueberries and it was perfect... er... except for my mistaking the oregano for cinnamon! Yep, that's right, I sprinkled oregano on top. When I realized my mistake (after banging my head on the pantry door a few times) I doubled up on the cinnamon and added a sprinkling of sugar. It was still yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Excellent dessert, very light and high. I added more blueberries (fresh, low bush). A perfect dessert to bring to a pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Chef John's Blueberry Clafoutis

See how to make a super quick-and-easy fruit dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States