Blueberry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We think this cake is delicious, however, a cheesecake it ain't. Nor does it taste like a cheesecake. It is a wet-bottomed cake, (in a good way) which keeps it moist. The almond extract gives the cake an exquisite taste along with the blueberries. I think vanilla may be substituted as some reviewers suggest but you'd be missing out; trust me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail A. Guild

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
i followed this recipe and found that it turned out so good all I did was added a little more blueberries I recommend this recipe I will definitely will make this again it is a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candy
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipe is just ok. I have made it twice and won't bother again. It's alright,more of a blueberry coffee cake than anything. Not worth the cost of the berries. But if you have a bunch of berries to use up....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My family cannot get enough of this. I make it about once a week and they even eat it for breakfast. I made some changes - I use plain vanilla extract because my husband is not fond of almonds and I use the entire block of cream cheese and butter for the shortening. Make sure you cook it for at least 60 minutes otherwise it is mushy. When I make this for company it's gone in a flash. Not too sweet and loaded with fresh (or frozen/thawed) blueberries. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Too eggy and tasted nothing like cheesecake. Hubby loved them, though. So I guess they're not bad, just not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Great treat at the meeting last night. Not a one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Very good. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblemount, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I really like the dense cake-like bottom layer. These are good as made with 8 oz cream cheese, but next time I'll double the "cheesecake topping", as it's just not enough. " I used all vanilla extract, butter instead of shortening, and added a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I'll make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Not much flavor. Definitely not a dessert more like a breakfast bread or muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is definitely a winner with my daughter and I. My husband thought it was a little tart. I took some of the suggestions and increased the cream cheese, decreased the eggs and added a dash of cinnamon over the blueberries. Hard to mess thi one up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States