Blueberry Banana Coconut Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Catalina
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
When I make a new recipe for the first time, I like to stick to the original ingredients. However, due to lack of some ingredients I had to substitute, and some, like the white sugar, I just never buy. Here's what I did: whole wheat flour, unsweetened coconut flakes, raw sugar, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup banana and 1 1/2 cups applesauce, and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries. I bake them for a total of 23 minutes and they came out perfect, not dry and not mushy! I think the next time I make these I'll make the original recipe but switch out the butter with coconut oil…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Very good! I did cut the butter in half and subbed coconut oil for the 1/4 stick of butter. They are very moist and delicious my kids at them for dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I made it with glueten free flour and it tastes better than most gluten free muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Just made these and they are delicious. I didn't have "quick-cooking" rolled oats so added my old fashioned oats to the wet ingredients before the other dry ingredients and let them soak for about 5 minutes. I also used whole wheat flour and they turned out perfectly moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Awesome muffin recipe. Kids love it. I make one batch with blueberries and another with chocolate chips. he
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rentsil99
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
One of the best muffin recipes I've made! They are so moist and delicious - kids raved about them. I had to tell them to save some for tomorrow so they could have some for breakfast before school - a quick, hearty, healthy breakfast on the go. I did make a few of little changes to note: 1) substituted sliced almonds for the coconut because I didn't have coconut; 2) used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of 1 cup all purpose flour; and 3) used 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup of white sugar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. Definitely making these again...in larger batches to freeze and have at the ready for those busy mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. Ingredients I had on hand and great to freeze and grab for going out the door in the morning. Used frozen blueberries and a few frozen raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family loves these muffins. Only thing I may try next tie is to add some brown sugar. I'm a bit afraid to mess with perfection! Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe! My 11 year old son had 3 of the muffins for breakfast, and my 5 year old ate 2 muffins. My husband gave me a thumbs up as well. The muffins are delicious and have a nice moist texture yet due to oats, coconut and flax seed, has more substance to it than a typical muffin. I was thrilled that I was able to use my ripe bananas and blueberries in 1 recipe- not to mention using flax seed which is great health benefits (Flax seed is an excellent source of fiber, Omega-3 fatty acids and antio xidants.). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed these muffins. I had to use quick steel oats and greek yogurt instead of rolled oats and sour cream because I didn't have the other ingredients on hand. My substitutions worked out great and will definitely make these again the same way. A great hearty muffin for breakfast for my kids and these would be great to freeze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States