Blueberry Banana Coconut Flax Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Catalina
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
When I make a new recipe for the first time, I like to stick to the original ingredients. However, due to lack of some ingredients I had to substitute, and some, like the white sugar, I just never buy. Here's what I did: whole wheat flour, unsweetened coconut flakes, raw sugar, 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup banana and 1 1/2 cups applesauce, and 1/2 cup frozen blueberries and 1 1/2 cups fresh blueberries. I bake them for a total of 23 minutes and they came out perfect, not dry and not mushy! I think the next time I make these I'll make the original recipe but switch out the butter with coconut oil…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catalina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Very good! I did cut the butter in half and subbed coconut oil for the 1/4 stick of butter. They are very moist and delicious my kids at them for dessert:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
I made it with glueten free flour and it tastes better than most gluten free muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Just made these and they are delicious. I didn't have "quick-cooking" rolled oats so added my old fashioned oats to the wet ingredients before the other dry ingredients and let them soak for about 5 minutes. I also used whole wheat flour and they turned out perfectly moist. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Awesome muffin recipe. Kids love it. I make one batch with blueberries and another with chocolate chips. he
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rentsil99
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
One of the best muffin recipes I've made! They are so moist and delicious - kids raved about them. I had to tell them to save some for tomorrow so they could have some for breakfast before school - a quick, hearty, healthy breakfast on the go. I did make a few of little changes to note: 1) substituted sliced almonds for the coconut because I didn't have coconut; 2) used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of 1 cup all purpose flour; and 3) used 1/2 cup brown sugar for 1/2 cup of white sugar. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter. Definitely making these again...in larger batches to freeze and have at the ready for those busy mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good. Ingredients I had on hand and great to freeze and grab for going out the door in the morning. Used frozen blueberries and a few frozen raspberries too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family loves these muffins. Only thing I may try next tie is to add some brown sugar. I'm a bit afraid to mess with perfection! Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I loved this recipe! My 11 year old son had 3 of the muffins for breakfast, and my 5 year old ate 2 muffins. My husband gave me a thumbs up as well. The muffins are delicious and have a nice moist texture yet due to oats, coconut and flax seed, has more substance to it than a typical muffin. I was thrilled that I was able to use my ripe bananas and blueberries in 1 recipe- not to mention using flax seed which is great health benefits (Flax seed is an excellent source of fiber, Omega-3 fatty acids and antio xidants.). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
We really enjoyed these muffins. I had to use quick steel oats and greek yogurt instead of rolled oats and sour cream because I didn't have the other ingredients on hand. My substitutions worked out great and will definitely make these again the same way. A great hearty muffin for breakfast for my kids and these would be great to freeze. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States