Blueberry Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
this was absolutely delicious! i added a little bit of sugar to the top after it came out of the oven just to give it a little more sweetness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I lost my prized banana bread recipe, so jumped on Allrecipes.com to see what I could find. I *just* made this and it is still piping hot! Melt-in-your-mouth divine..... I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten free baking flour, and it turned out beautifully. I used two 8"x 3+7/8" aluminum baking pans (store bought) so I can take these to a social gathering. Obviously one won't make it there ;) Worked out perfectly! Baked both together for about 50-55 minutes. (Rotated pans halfway through so they would bake evenly). Followed the recipe as written, although did sub 3/4 c. brown sugar for the white sugar. Did not need additional rising agent. I did add a topping: mixed 5 TBSP. brown sugar, 2 TBSP. flour, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon together, then cut in 1 TBSP. butter until crumbly. Sprinkled over the top and baked. Next time I may add cinnamon to the batter. Would also prefer more blueberries, but this was yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stillsweet43!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious!! Added 3 bananas instead of 2...baked in one large loaf pan instead of three small for 50 minutes - covered with foil after 35 minutes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I added an extra banana, but other than that, used this recipe to the T and loved it. I was worried when the batter was really thick, but it came out great. It didn't rise as much as other breads I've made, but maybe my baking soda was old?? It didn't effect the taste, though. I doubled the recipe and got 23 small/med sized muffins and two small loaves. I usually stick to my mom's banana bread recipe - everyone says its awesome - but I would make this any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I won't even make banana bread without the blueberries in it anymore. I was skeptical at first but it was AMAZING! My kids love it to so that was a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I only made a couple of changes to this recipe. The first one was because of necessity. I doubled the batch and ran out of butter and had to substitute canola oil. The second change was due to taste. After the whole process, I tasted the batter, and wanted more blueberry, so I added an additional cup, making the total 3 c. for the double batch (btw, all I had were frozen blueberries, so that’s what I used – which accounts for the blue/purple color of my loaves). The only other change was that I made regular size loaves instead of mini ones. The batter tasted so good I could have eaten it all raw, and would have too, if it weren’t for the 4 raw eggs in there (well, maybe I wouldn’t have eaten it ALL, but I would have certainly eaten my share!) Because I made regular size loaves, it took about 20 extra minutes to bake, making the total bake time 45 minutes. They came out looking luscious golden brown, with the delicious crispy/chewy crust I love, moist in the middle, and just yummy through and through! When I woke up the day after making it, my family had devoured one whole loaf, and were all raving about how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Made the recipe as listed but made them into mini muffins instead. I sprayed my pampered chef mini muffin pan and filled them to the top. Before I baked them, I added a topping mixture of 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Baked for 15 mins and they turned out perfectly! The kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe was great! Excellent jumping off point. I used 4 bananas instead of 2 and about 3 cups of blueberries instead of 1. Also, instead of making a loaf of bread I baked mine in a 9x13 pan. I made my recipe vegan by using egg substitute (Whole Foods, $7) in place of eggs, and organic margarine in place of butter. Lastly, I used whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was excellent! I was able to make two standard size loaves by multiplying the recipe by 1.5. Because I had two cups of blueberries, I threw them all in and baked the loaves for 60 minutes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vashon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Baked exactly as the recipe lists aside from dredging the berries in flour and using a full sized loaf and OMG delicious. For the large loaf in a glass pan, I put it on a cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 35 min. Then I covered it with a piece of foil and baked another 30 min. It turned out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslynnae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States