Blueberry Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I added a teaspoon of dried lemon zest, other than that I stuck to the recipe. Right before baking, I sprinkled a little sugar over each muffin mound. I did get 12 BIG muffins out of one recipe instead of one big loaf. Baked at 350*, my muffins were done at 23 minutes. VERY good. My muffins didn't rise very much, next time I make this I would add a teaspoon of baking powder maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I did toss my blueberries in some flour before adding to the batter which always helps in getting them evenly distributed instead of all dropping to the bottom of the loaf. Followed this recipe to the letter, and it was very moist and tender with juicy bites of blueberries. Very nice, thanks for sharing your recipe STILLSWEET43
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious!! Added 3 bananas instead of 2...baked in one large loaf pan instead of three small for 50 minutes - covered with foil after 35 minutes. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I only made a couple of changes to this recipe. The first one was because of necessity. I doubled the batch and ran out of butter and had to substitute canola oil. The second change was due to taste. After the whole process, I tasted the batter, and wanted more blueberry, so I added an additional cup, making the total 3 c. for the double batch (btw, all I had were frozen blueberries, so that’s what I used – which accounts for the blue/purple color of my loaves). The only other change was that I made regular size loaves instead of mini ones. The batter tasted so good I could have eaten it all raw, and would have too, if it weren’t for the 4 raw eggs in there (well, maybe I wouldn’t have eaten it ALL, but I would have certainly eaten my share!) Because I made regular size loaves, it took about 20 extra minutes to bake, making the total bake time 45 minutes. They came out looking luscious golden brown, with the delicious crispy/chewy crust I love, moist in the middle, and just yummy through and through! When I woke up the day after making it, my family had devoured one whole loaf, and were all raving about how great it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Made the recipe as listed but made them into mini muffins instead. I sprayed my pampered chef mini muffin pan and filled them to the top. Before I baked them, I added a topping mixture of 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1 tsp of cinnamon. Baked for 15 mins and they turned out perfectly! The kids loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This recipe was great! Excellent jumping off point. I used 4 bananas instead of 2 and about 3 cups of blueberries instead of 1. Also, instead of making a loaf of bread I baked mine in a 9x13 pan. I made my recipe vegan by using egg substitute (Whole Foods, $7) in place of eggs, and organic margarine in place of butter. Lastly, I used whole wheat flour in place of all-purpose white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
This is a delicious, tender banana bread. I did not add baking powder & it rose nicely. The bread is light & not dense @ all. The 3 small loaves are apparently the mini-loaf size. I made one 8" loaf & one mini loaf. I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon & about 1/4 tsp nutmeg & some toasted walnuts b/c I love those in sweet bread. I'm not sure how long I baked the 8" loaf since I didn't time it. I think around 50 min. I will definitely make this again. The subtle tartness of the blueberries & the sweet bread are a wonderful contrast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitesboro, New York, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This recipe is a favorite made into muffins. Bake in oven for 23 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I love this recipe! The bread is very moist. I had to use frozen blueberries in it, but it didn't make a difference. It was still delicious. I followed this recipe exactly, except for adding 3 bananas instead of 2 (I happen to have 3 that needed to be used). Mine did take longer than 35 minutes to bake though - at least 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I lost my prized banana bread recipe, so jumped on Allrecipes.com to see what I could find. I *just* made this and it is still piping hot! Melt-in-your-mouth divine..... I used Bob's Red Mill Gluten free baking flour, and it turned out beautifully. I used two 8"x 3+7/8" aluminum baking pans (store bought) so I can take these to a social gathering. Obviously one won't make it there ;) Worked out perfectly! Baked both together for about 50-55 minutes. (Rotated pans halfway through so they would bake evenly). Followed the recipe as written, although did sub 3/4 c. brown sugar for the white sugar. Did not need additional rising agent. I did add a topping: mixed 5 TBSP. brown sugar, 2 TBSP. flour, 1/8 tsp. cinnamon together, then cut in 1 TBSP. butter until crumbly. Sprinkled over the top and baked. Next time I may add cinnamon to the batter. Would also prefer more blueberries, but this was yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Stillsweet43!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States