Blueberry Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Very moist and delicious! I'm not sure what the author meant by "small" loaf pans, however. I doubled the recipe and used 4 loaf pans that are 8X3, 2.5" deep. I added a teaspoon of baking powder to the double recipe and 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I crushed about 1/2 cup of blueberries with the bananas (to spread the blueberry flavor throughout the loaves) and then tossed the 2 cups of blueberries with flour to keep them from sinking, as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
It's blueberry season here in Michigan and I wanted a recipe to use some of the large, flavorful berries I recently picked. I had a banana that was overly ripe so this recipe was perfect. This bread is moist and flavorful made exactly like the recipe is written. Because my blueberries were so large, I had strong blueberry flavor throughout. I would make this again, whenever I have blueberries that need to be used up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Yields a very nice, moist, large loaf. Next time I will add 2 or 3 cups of blueberries because the banana flavor dominates. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
The bread was really moist. Few changes - added 1/2 tsp of Cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of baking powder, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar. Mixed blueberries in flour so that they don't sink. Next time will try it with applesauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
making this now as i type this, 35 minutes was not enough, did two more rounds of 15 minutest and it is still gooey in the middle.so now it is in for another 20 minutes, i made one big loaf not three small ones. so far 95 minutes in the ooven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Hathaway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
I made this on a hot summer 's day when I had to use up my frozen bananas because I was getting a new fridge. I added 1/2 cup of plain yogurt,another 2 eggs, an extra tsp of baking soda, and a cup of whole wheat flour, as well as 2 more bananas. I halved the amount of sugar and salt. I also added chopped pecans. I baked it in my gas bbq for an hour at about 375. I did not have a brick to bake on, so just used an overturned stoneware dish. Turned out fantastic. '
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I added cinnamon, baking powder, and used 2 cups of blueberries......and made muffins, cooking them for 25 minutes at 355 degrees (my oven takes longer than recipes call for, so I turn it up and add a couple minutes).....these were so very, very good......definitely a keeper.....and what a great way to use up the ripe bananas and blueberries............Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Two days before I made this I had picked fresh blueberries from a local farmer. I don't know if this made a difference or not, but this recipe turned out super yummy! I ended up replacing some of the flour with oatmeal to make it more hearty, and added a bit of sour cream to ensure moistness. I can't stop eating it! I'm definitely making this one again. Update: I forgot to mention that I ended up putting some of the batter in my Pampered Chef individual brownie pan and each individual thing was a piece of heaven. I gave a thingy to a couple of friends of mine and they loved it. My husband and son keep asking me when I'm going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made these and they are amazing!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This bread is delicious! I had bananas and frozen blueberries to use so this recipe fit the bill. I tossed the frozen blueberries in a little bit of flour so they spread evenly and didn't sink to the bottom. I used a 6 cup mini bundt pan and baked them for 25 min. They turned out perfect! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States