Blueberry and Raspberry Pancake Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Such a simple recipe! I've made it with a combination of raspberries and blueberries and with blueberries alone. The recipe, as is, is great. With blueberries alone, you can add 1/2 tsp almond extract, a little splash of lemon juice (to replace the acidity that the raspberries would give) and a little cinnamon. Nomnom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Very good topping. I rated this a 4 stars based on original recipe; but, it's actually 5 stars with my adjustments. I used all fresh raspberries and blueberries, not frozen. I also squeezed fresh orange juice in place of the water. In addition to that I added the zest of the whole orange for more of an orange-y flavor. I found I had to add a little cornstarch to thickened up the sauce as it was too thin. The sauce is BERRYlicious - just sweet enough with a little "tart". The addition of the orange juice and zest gives this sauce a wonderful flavor. I am glad I thickened this up with cornstarch because it has the consistency I wanted. I also plan on using it over pancakes and for another dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I didn't get to use this on pancakes. We put it on ice cream and wow it was delicious. I will definitely make this again. Maybe this time we can try on pancakes or even waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very tasty and so easy to make. The amount of sugar is perfect; not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
great topping. made with pancakes and will make again, (but more next time :). has a great sweetness too it, without the preservatives and artificial flavors of supermarket syrups, which are basically high fructose corn syrups with added chemicals. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I used fresh instead of frozen as they are both in season. I love this topping! It's not sweet like syrup and the flavor is fabulous! Doubled the recipe (I had lots of very ripe raspberries) and froze some. Delish on pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATKOMP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
For a healthier recipe, omit the sugar. And you don't need water either. I just put the frozen berries in a bowl in the microwave and heat them up and pour them over waffles or pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WisconsinMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
sounds wonderful, but for tose of us who are dibetic, use sugar free syrup as a base for your fruit syrup,, it really is wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I put it in a pyrex casserole bowl and baked it for 30 min. at 375. I did add 1 Tbs of corn starch also. It thickened while sitting awhile
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Even less sugar could be okay. We used strawberries instead of raspberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States