Blueberry and Chia Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made modifications though - almond milk instead of soy, used more water & less milk, left out the honey, used mixed berries, added cinnamon & pecans/walnuts. It's my go-to breakfast during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Everyone complains of lack of flavor. The one essential missing ingredient....salt! And salt is NOT something I like. Nothing tastes good without an appropriate amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I read the reviews before I made this recipe. I used the base of the quinoa and chia seeds. I did apples and cherries instead of the blueberries and added tons of spices (cinnamon, ginger, clove). It turned out great! I also added a wee bit of maple syrup to my bowl. I loved the texture especially!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
very distinct flavor. some people would love it. others would hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
It was extremely bland and texturally strange. The taste of the quinoa overpowers everything else and it's not appetizing at all. I also made it for children who are 10 and 8 and they could not even stomach it. I had to bribe them with turkey bacon to get them to eat just a quarter of their serving. This was even after I doused their portion with honey to make it sweet enough for them to eat. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone, and I'm highly disappointed that I wasted two cups of delicious (and seasonally pricey) blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
It's a little bland by itself, just like oatmeal I guess! But with brown sugar, it was just fine. Different and full of texture. I like it but my friend found it too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
This recipe has potential, but like the other comments, it lacks sweetness. I'll try again with different (sweeter) fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I am cooking this as we speak . when you team two wonderful foods together with fruit and honey :))when you play with a recipe and make it your own!! simple and a new staple for my family :)) Thanks Erica
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made substituions of sweetened vanilla coconut milk instead of soy, added vanilla, and used mixed berries (black, blue, rasp, and straw). It was incredibly lacking in taste and sweetness. I added stevia to my bowl and that helped. I think the ratio of quinoa and chia to flavorings is off. I'd use either a far less amount of the seeds or a much much greater amount of berries, honey, and whatever to give this a little more punch. As for my house smelling like heaven, well, I couldn't smell anything until I got near the crockpot and it smelled very earthy - not like warm vanilla and berrie porridge. Again, a ratio thing, probably. has potential, but certainly not as as posted here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
LOTS of potential with this one. I'll do it again with other berries, other added ingredients, nuts, etc. Needed a bit more sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States