Blue Spinach Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
Really good! The only change I made was to substitute toasted sunflower seeds for pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This is a good salad and my rating is based on this version. But my favorite way to have this salad is to replace the blue cheese dressing with a vinaigrette...preferably a raspberry viniagrette. You can also replace the blue cheese with gorgonzola. Try it and you will like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
No doubt about it; this is certainly a very unique salad. I wasn't quite sure what the purpose was of using a blue cheese dressing if the cheese was already in the salad. As another reviewer suggested, I opted for a raspberry dressing and sunflower seeds. The pumpkin seeds seemed a bit chewy for this. Either way, really delicious and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Loved the idea, but I made a few changes. Took out the grapes and added cold, roasted pumpkin, swapped pumpkin seeds for sunflower and used homemade blue cheese dressing. Perfect side dish for BBQ rump steak with a glass of unwooded chardonnay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I liked this salad. Something different for a change. I made the recipe as written, then topped my salad with some sliced smoked turkey breast which added the perfect amount of depth to the salad....and also made it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I really liked the grape and cheese together. I did use another dressing, because 1 TB of blue cheese is quite enough for me :=) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was quite tasty. The grapes were what made the salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This was a good salad. I used a balsamic vinaigrette instead of blue cheese dressing. I also threw in some romaine. We found the pumpkin seeds to be too chewy (as another reviewer mentioned), so I would recommend sunflower seeds instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
If you can find it, try smoked bleu cheese....delish. I wouldn't use bleu cheese dressing as others suggest....a vinaigrette would not interfere with the bleu cheese, or overpower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I use toasted pecans in place of sunflower, add red onion rings and use poppyseed dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States