Blue Ribbon White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Blue ribbon white cake is the best white cake I, have ever made & eaten. This recipe deserves a a 10. Excellent, excellent. ormsbyteddi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I thought this recipe was absolutely simple and delicious! I did not make the frosting, but it still tasted wonderful. I added about 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract, and it made a perfect blend of flavor between the vanilla. I must add that it is a bit of a heavier cake that rises in the oven and then falls a bit. I would still recommend it to anyone who loves white cakes. Please rate the frosting, so I can see if I want to try it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
It was a little strange to make, but the results were great. Nice cake when you don't want it fighting with the filling or icing flavors. I made it with a lemon curd filling with lemon icing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This cake was very moist. It was denser than most white cakes but was very good. The frosting was excellent but I did have to add more confectioners sugar to thicken enough to be spreadable on the cake. I refrigerated till serving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A amazing cake, I would give it 10 stars if I could! I frosted it with French Silk Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Followed the recipe to a "t" except for the use of almond extract. The batter was not unlike some described as play doh or dense. It was very nice to work with. I made only half the recipe to try and it's in the oven now. Is raising perfectly. Using whipped cream for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the white cake recipe I've been looking for--light and fluffy yet moist. I made some adjustments because I kind of know what I like: I added an extra egg white and a 1/4 tsp. of baking soda which maybe makes it a little lighter and "eggier". Otherwise I followed the recipe almost to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This cake tastes like what cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Found this recipe looking 4 white cake cud use Canola oil in. Followed Jessica F's advice,used 5 egg whites & baking soda. Made 2 layers, put on plates, did rasp. jello "pokecakes", then pressed 2 cps.fresh rasps. on bottom layer refrig- erated til set, then filled & iced w. Cool Whip/vanilla pudd/pie fill combo for hubby's birthday....EXCELLENT!! Wud suggest perhaps problems some ladies xperienced may hv been NOT taking enuf time folding in the egg whites. Took me good 5 mins. bcause of stiffness of batter. Will use this often w. variations...THANK YOU 4 such an old-fashioned-tasting vanilla goodness recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this for a wedding along side my very famous chocolate cake. This outshined my chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States