Blue Ribbon White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
White cake mix turns our better than this recipe. I only made the cake (no frosting), but the cake was not good. It raised in the oven, but sank as it cooled making it very dense. It tasted like bread dough. If you're not an expert baker and want a good white cake, make it from a mix or find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Right now I have the cake in the oven. I am writing about the cake itself. The first half of the recipe was a little weird. The dough was so sticky and thick, it was like making bread(which I hate to do). Not as easy as I thought. Waiting for results. Will write review after I am finished with the cake.(Note added after cake was finished...... This cake was horrible. I have no idea why the other reviewers said it was good. It tasted like nothing and was very heavy. I make at least 10 different cakes a week and this is the worst so far. Be willing to try and throw away. I did!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe is the worst baking disaster I can ever recall - Seriously. I made it for a birthday dinner and was completely embarrassed at how awful it was. Doughy and extremely dense, the cake was so bad, guests ate a few bites and politely said they were to full to eat any more! Don't make the same mistake I did and waste time and $$ on making this "blue ribbon" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
"Heavier than usual"? The batter was like play-doh, making it difficult to work with; the flavor of the finished cake was bland; and the recipe was an overall disappointment. If this is how the cake is meant to turn out, I would not encourage people to make excuses for it! I was hopeful through the baking, but once it cooled I found no reason to frost it and present it as a birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A amazing cake, I would give it 10 stars if I could! I frosted it with French Silk Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This cake was pretty good, but it tasted like it had too much flour. It was a little heavier than cake usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Blue ribbon white cake is the best white cake I, have ever made & eaten. This recipe deserves a a 10. Excellent, excellent. ormsbyteddi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
This cake and icing are both good, but the cake was not as fluffy as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Terrible! I had high hopes for this cake but it turned out dense and dry. It was bland and tasted like sweetend bisuit. I will not use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I thought this recipe was absolutely simple and delicious! I did not make the frosting, but it still tasted wonderful. I added about 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract, and it made a perfect blend of flavor between the vanilla. I must add that it is a bit of a heavier cake that rises in the oven and then falls a bit. I would still recommend it to anyone who loves white cakes. Please rate the frosting, so I can see if I want to try it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States