Blue Ribbon White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
I found this recipe to taste more like muffins than cake. It was fun to make and my husband ( who does't like sweets) liked this recipe more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2000
This cake and icing are both good, but the cake was not as fluffy as I was hoping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2001
It was a little strange to make, but the results were great. Nice cake when you don't want it fighting with the filling or icing flavors. I made it with a lemon curd filling with lemon icing. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2001
Blue ribbon white cake is the best white cake I, have ever made & eaten. This recipe deserves a a 10. Excellent, excellent. ormsbyteddi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
Good recipe. I used a rectangular pan and made the frosting with cream cheese. very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
White cake mix turns our better than this recipe. I only made the cake (no frosting), but the cake was not good. It raised in the oven, but sank as it cooled making it very dense. It tasted like bread dough. If you're not an expert baker and want a good white cake, make it from a mix or find another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
This cake was pretty good, but it tasted like it had too much flour. It was a little heavier than cake usually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
I thought this recipe was absolutely simple and delicious! I did not make the frosting, but it still tasted wonderful. I added about 1/2 a teaspoon of almond extract, and it made a perfect blend of flavor between the vanilla. I must add that it is a bit of a heavier cake that rises in the oven and then falls a bit. I would still recommend it to anyone who loves white cakes. Please rate the frosting, so I can see if I want to try it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
Right now I have the cake in the oven. I am writing about the cake itself. The first half of the recipe was a little weird. The dough was so sticky and thick, it was like making bread(which I hate to do). Not as easy as I thought. Waiting for results. Will write review after I am finished with the cake.(Note added after cake was finished...... This cake was horrible. I have no idea why the other reviewers said it was good. It tasted like nothing and was very heavy. I make at least 10 different cakes a week and this is the worst so far. Be willing to try and throw away. I did!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
"Heavier than usual"? The batter was like play-doh, making it difficult to work with; the flavor of the finished cake was bland; and the recipe was an overall disappointment. If this is how the cake is meant to turn out, I would not encourage people to make excuses for it! I was hopeful through the baking, but once it cooled I found no reason to frost it and present it as a birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States