Blue Ribbon White Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I love this cake I made it tonight, but instead of using orange zest and juice i swapped it out with a fresh grapefruit!! So yummy! I just wish the cake came out a bit fluffier and had some bounce back to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This cake didn;t come out of the pan well even when greased and was crumbly so very difficult to frost. The taste was fine but it was hideously ugly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita Margarita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Redondo, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I am an experienced baker and I would classify the finished result of this as a bread ( and a dense thick one) not a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I made this for a wedding along side my very famous chocolate cake. This outshined my chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Found this recipe looking 4 white cake cud use Canola oil in. Followed Jessica F's advice,used 5 egg whites & baking soda. Made 2 layers, put on plates, did rasp. jello "pokecakes", then pressed 2 cps.fresh rasps. on bottom layer refrig- erated til set, then filled & iced w. Cool Whip/vanilla pudd/pie fill combo for hubby's birthday....EXCELLENT!! Wud suggest perhaps problems some ladies xperienced may hv been NOT taking enuf time folding in the egg whites. Took me good 5 mins. bcause of stiffness of batter. Will use this often w. variations...THANK YOU 4 such an old-fashioned-tasting vanilla goodness recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
This recipe is the worst baking disaster I can ever recall - Seriously. I made it for a birthday dinner and was completely embarrassed at how awful it was. Doughy and extremely dense, the cake was so bad, guests ate a few bites and politely said they were to full to eat any more! Don't make the same mistake I did and waste time and $$ on making this "blue ribbon" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
This cake tastes like what cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is the white cake recipe I've been looking for--light and fluffy yet moist. I made some adjustments because I kind of know what I like: I added an extra egg white and a 1/4 tsp. of baking soda which maybe makes it a little lighter and "eggier". Otherwise I followed the recipe almost to a "T".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Followed the recipe to a "t" except for the use of almond extract. The batter was not unlike some described as play doh or dense. It was very nice to work with. I made only half the recipe to try and it's in the oven now. Is raising perfectly. Using whipped cream for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
A amazing cake, I would give it 10 stars if I could! I frosted it with French Silk Frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States