Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I, too, double the yeast and use melted butter instead of shortening. I have found that using butter not only improves the flavor, but it also eliminates the need to butter the crusts altogether. I also don't bother with the pan of water. No need! It is wonderful without the fuss!! The milk, butter, and honey give the bread the depth of flavor that we were looking for. The texture is perfect, and I love that it makes two 9x5 inch loaves. To make wheat bread, I just substitute whole wheat flour for the first 2 cups of bread flour. I can't believe that this recipe isn't more highly rated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Ever since I decided to make my own bread by hand instead of buying the mediocre loaves at the grocery store, I've been in search of the perfect white bread recipe. Well, I found it a month or two ago in this. This bread has everything I want in a loaf -- the flavor is there, it really is tender and creamy enough you can eat it plain, and yet it holds together well enough for sandwiches and for scooping up gravies and sauces. You really do get the best of all worlds with this recipe. However, I recommend using a bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. I have found that all homemade loaves really benefit in texture immensley. The only other thing I eventually changed was using melted butter instead of shortening -- one time I had run out of shortening and didn't notice until it was too late, so I had to substitute. The butter tastes very, very good in this loaf! The texture isn't exactly the same, but the difference is very minor and I actually like it better. This is a keeper! Thanks, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Love it, love it, love it!!!!! I am a novice (with a capital N) baker, but I have made this several times and it always turns out great. As Kristin has said, it's creamy and rich. Actually, it's a little too good, because we're consuming a lot more bread than we usually do!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
YOUR SEARCH FOR THE PERFECT BREAD RECIPE CAN END RIGHT HERE! I followed this recipe EXACTLY. I've eaten some wonderful homemade bread in my life, especially since we don't live that far from Ohio's Amish Country. This bread blows every other out of the water! It is so unbelievably good. Not doughy, but nice and soft inside with a nice crust. It makes great rolls, too! I'm going to add a little more sugar and use it for cinnamon rolls. I'll probably never buy bread from the store again! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I think I am only the second person who did not like this recipe. It was very heavy and had an unpleasing taste. I will not make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Wonderful soft sandwich bread. I made half of the recipe in my bread machine. I put it through the dough cycle and shaped it into a long loaf and it turned out great. Thank You Kristin for responding to my request for the "Subway sandwich" type of bread. It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
I found this recipe to yield a bread that was too salty, too sweet and not a very pleasant flavor or texture. It was easy to make with not too many steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Made this yesterday except I reduced the salt by 1/2 tsp and doubled the yeast (both recommended tips here, thank you). Don't like shortening, used melted butter. 1/2 dough as is; the other I spread cinnamon and butter (forgot the sugar part, yikes) before rolling up tight and into the pan. Family loved both and had them straight from the oven with butter, and camembert. Made cheese toasts (plain loaf,thickly sliced) served with corned beef hash for breakfast ... mmm. Quite dense if not for the increased yeast, but that's ok too, if you like dense bread. Good basic bread, with lots of possibilities. Thanks Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this recipe on 11/04/02, and I am very pleased with the outcome. The bread is delicious, and is perfect for sandwiches. I found this recipe to be very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
This is the best bread I have ever made. I have a bread maker that has been sitting in the closet for years because I could never get good bread out of it. This is the first recipe I tried from this site and it turned out perfect. The more I make it the better it gets and the neighbors won't stop asking for loaves. It was because of this bread recipe that I finally got my wife to get me a Kitchenaid mixer for my birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States