Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
I searched the world over for the perfect bread recipe - and I've finally found it! Even my kids love this bread. If you're looking for a nice, soft bread that's easy to make, you have to try this recipe. Thanks, Kristin. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2004
Great Recipe, excellent hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Made this yesterday except I reduced the salt by 1/2 tsp and doubled the yeast (both recommended tips here, thank you). Don't like shortening, used melted butter. 1/2 dough as is; the other I spread cinnamon and butter (forgot the sugar part, yikes) before rolling up tight and into the pan. Family loved both and had them straight from the oven with butter, and camembert. Made cheese toasts (plain loaf,thickly sliced) served with corned beef hash for breakfast ... mmm. Quite dense if not for the increased yeast, but that's ok too, if you like dense bread. Good basic bread, with lots of possibilities. Thanks Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
This was my first attempt at baking bread and a good debut it was! This is a great recipe--the taste was absolutely fantastic, but I apparently still have a little to learn about baking bread. There was a hole the size of a large cigar on the inside of the first loaf I sliced (we haven't eaten the second one yet), and the middle pieces were slightly soggy. My wife told me she actually likes bread baked in that "style," but it appeared to me that it just wasn't all the way "done," even though the top was golden brown. I served it with butter as a side with the BBQ and coleslaw we had for supper. A winner, but I've got to do some tweaking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This bread was amazingly good! Great by itself or for sandwiches. Anyone who did not like this bread made it wrong. Mine came out light, fluffy and perfect with a consistency like expensive store white bread and more flavor. With the addition of a little Cinnamon butter and sugar and cream cheese frosting, this makes some amazing "Cinnabon" bread as my son calls it. I whip butter, sugar, cream cheese frosting and cinnamon together brush it onto the rolled out dough, rill it up and let it rise 30 min and bake it. I then brush more frosting and cinnamon onto the top when in comes out of the oven. 1 loaf is lucky to last long enough to cool. Really really good. If you try to half the recipe, remember that the quantities change in the ingredients list but not in the written directions. I made this mistake and ended up making the full recipe to correct the problem. This is prompted me to try making a cinnamon bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This is the greatest bread that I've ever eaten! Do yourself a favor and make this recipe, it's worth all of the work. I usually make 3 smaller loafs in 3.5'' x 9''pans for about 35-40 minutes and it bakes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I love this recipe. I just made it for the second time and I did change one thing. Instead of one package of yeast, I used two. It raised much nicer than the first time. It really is a great bread recipe. Joyln B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJOYLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
I have a feeling that this bread will become a regular around our kitchen. It turn out beautifully and works well with all the toppings we could think of as well as by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
I made this recipe on 11/04/02, and I am very pleased with the outcome. The bread is delicious, and is perfect for sandwiches. I found this recipe to be very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Love it, love it, love it!!!!! I am a novice (with a capital N) baker, but I have made this several times and it always turns out great. As Kristin has said, it's creamy and rich. Actually, it's a little too good, because we're consuming a lot more bread than we usually do!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States