Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I can't wait to try this! I make my own bread for my family and they rather have my bread , compared to the store bread. thanks for sharing this. I'm going to make it today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Made as directed and it's some of the best white bread I have ever had, and my family agrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrensburg, New York, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
Without a doubt, the best white bread recipe ever. I made one change to it and used butter instead of shortening. I had searched for years for a good white bread recipe, that wasn't too airy and didn't taste like paste. This bread has an awesome flavor to it! I made it for the first time and everyone loved it. My daughter's boyfriend wants the recipe. He says it's the best white bread, far better then what you get at the store. I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is the best bread I have had in a long time, this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Serious fail! I've been making bread for 4+ years and I've never had one not work after my yeast was nice a fluffy. Followed it exactly. Didn't work. Will not use this one again, and this is the only bad review I have ever written! I'm ony rating this a one because I had to to get this rated....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
For months now i have been trying new recipes because we are gluten-free and i hate the bread in the packs, they taste like sandpaper. so i have been working on recipe after recipe with no luck of liking them. well i will look no further. yours is perfect with a few minor adjustments, such as just a pinch of salt and a pinch of sugar rice/potato flour and doubling the yeast. i love this recipe thank you so much. its almost like i have tasted real bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This bread is fantastic. I did have a little trouble with it rising at first, then followed the directions of putting it in the oven with a bowl of warm water underneath and gave it another hour to rise. It came out awesome. I also only had all-purpose flour on hand, but it came out really great. The texture was soft, creamy and spongy just like store bought white bread. Next time I will use the recommendations here and double the yeast. I also want to try it with some whole wheat flour for wheat bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have tried many different white bread recipes; this is by far the best. I took the suggestion made in a few reviews to decrease the salt by 1/2 tsp, double the yeast, and use butter instead of shortening. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I have made this recipe several times now and taught it to my daughter over Easter weekend. We love this bread! I follow the recipe with the exception that I use butter-flavored shortening since it is the only shortening I keep in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I rolled this dough into dinner rolls. They barely made it to dinner. My family loved them. They turned out light and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JHageter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States