Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2001
this was the first time baking bread and the results were great. there is nothing like fresh baked bread. great recipe! will definitly bake again soon. we baked two loaves of bread that didn't last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Ever since I decided to make my own bread by hand instead of buying the mediocre loaves at the grocery store, I've been in search of the perfect white bread recipe. Well, I found it a month or two ago in this. This bread has everything I want in a loaf -- the flavor is there, it really is tender and creamy enough you can eat it plain, and yet it holds together well enough for sandwiches and for scooping up gravies and sauces. You really do get the best of all worlds with this recipe. However, I recommend using a bread flour instead of all-purpose flour. I have found that all homemade loaves really benefit in texture immensley. The only other thing I eventually changed was using melted butter instead of shortening -- one time I had run out of shortening and didn't notice until it was too late, so I had to substitute. The butter tastes very, very good in this loaf! The texture isn't exactly the same, but the difference is very minor and I actually like it better. This is a keeper! Thanks, Kristin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
I have made this receipe in a bread machine as well as the "old fashion" way. It comes out absolutly delicious everytime no matter how it is made. I would deffinatly recommend this recipe. In fact I have already given it to friends. There is never anything but crumbs left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
Yum! Excellent taste,texture. Makes excellent dinner rolls, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
I used this recipe for fried bread and my seven year old son ate three pieces and his dinner!!! My neighbors were shouting "we're not w o r t h y!" I liked this recipe it was allot easier to use than my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
This is a wonderful toasting bread. It is a heavy bread but if that is what you are wanting it is great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
The best bread I have made yet and yes the kids just love it.My husband is not a fan of bread but now I can't keep it longerthat 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2001
This recipe is great! I've made it three times and my family loves it. Sometimes, I make cinnamon swirl bread by speading butter, cinnamon, and sugar on it then rolling it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2001
I couldn't get this recipe to turn out right, it was very heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2001
This is the first bread I tried to make and it turned out very well. Very creamy, just like the recipe says. But, it occurred to me that it never mentions when to add the sugar listed in the ingredients list. But, the absence didn't seem to make much of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States