Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This bread is awesome! So moist and tender. My family raved about it and they are very picky. My son, who is 25, says we should never buy store-bought bread again! We used it for turkey sandwiches the day after Christmas...Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Versailles, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This one earned the blue ribbon! I made 2 loaves a few days befor thanksgiving, my first time ever making bread by hand, and it came out ok, but I made it again the night before thanksgiving for the feast the next day and it was all I could do not to eat a whole loaf myself! I found it was all in the way i mixed the dough and added ingrediants when it was still mostly liquid and was adding the flour, and also adding just a little more honey to give it a sweet touch. I give it 10 stars, a sure hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
i have tried this bread recipe and my family loved it. We even started eating it just to eat it so I had to stop making it for a while. But this bread is the BOMB! excuse the slang but I couldn't find a better word. Thanks for the pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This bread tastes great, allthough I've never actually followed the recipe perfectly- I think the fact that it still came out good makes it a good recipe. If you want my opinion use a little more yeast and do half whole weat flower/half unbleached.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
I've been making this recipe for a while now and have finally gotten around to reviewing it. This was my first non-bread machine recipe and I felt like a genius after making it! This recipe makes really good white bread with flavour! I have also made this into a garlic and cheese loaf, as well as onion buns. This is the only white bread recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aberfoyle, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
I, too, double the yeast and use melted butter instead of shortening. I have found that using butter not only improves the flavor, but it also eliminates the need to butter the crusts altogether. I also don't bother with the pan of water. No need! It is wonderful without the fuss!! The milk, butter, and honey give the bread the depth of flavor that we were looking for. The texture is perfect, and I love that it makes two 9x5 inch loaves. To make wheat bread, I just substitute whole wheat flour for the first 2 cups of bread flour. I can't believe that this recipe isn't more highly rated!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
I have had this recipe for awhile now and i dont know what i would do without it now! It is a fantastic tasting bread, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I've made this bread a few times and each time I've had no problems. A good, tasty, easy to make bread. No complaints here:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This greatest bread receipe I have found my husband can't get enough. Thank you for publishing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was my first time making bread from scratch. This recipe makes the best bread my family and I have ever tasted. I also used butter in place of the shortening. My husband requests this bread at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States