Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I haven't baked bread in years, but thought I'd try this one. It's so yummy. My 2 little boys devoured it and my dh was speechless. We ate a whole loaf right out of the oven. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
easy and soft, great everyday bread. i add wheat germ and sunflower seeds for extra nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This bread turned out beautiful and delicious. It did have a strange texture to it. It did not have the feel of loaf bread really and it crumbled. But I would recommend it for a dinner bread, etc. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
this is a lovely white bread. Easy to throw together, the honey will keep it moist, as honey has a tendency to pull moisture from the air. Light and tender, nice crumb. The only reason for 4 stars is I think it could have used 1/2 tsp more salt. baking temp and times listed were perfect. I didn't bother with the moist heat in the oven, or eggwash. I prefer white bread without the crisp crust. Brushed some melted butter over the tops after taking out of the oven. thanks for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
First time making bread ever and it came out tasting great even if I did mangle it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was creamy but not the best iv had. i didnt like the crust, it was too crunchy for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I made this and it looked and smelled wonderful!! The taste is ...okay...it makes fantastic toast or for a side of bread for dinner but as sandwich bread it is a little too dense. My 4yr old LOVES it, he will eat the bread with nothing on it. I made it with bread flour instead of all purpose, maybe that is why it is so dense. Next time I am going to half it & use all purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEADOW MCKINLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This is the best bread ever. I have been trying several differnet bread recipes for our family to use and this is it. It has easy to follow directions and the bread turned out so tasty!! The crust was crispy and flaky and the texture was unbelivable!!! My husband loved it too. We had a hard time not eating it all gone! This is our all time favorite bread recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
We thought this bread was very heavy, but the taste is out of this world! I will definetely be making this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very nice texture even in the bread machine. I halved the original recipe. Here's how I adapted it for my machine: omitted sugar, combined all liquids, honey & oil (instead of shortening) & poured that into machine. Combined flour & salt,then put that on top of liquids. Finally poured 1 whole pkg yeast into one corner of flour. Turned machine on & 3.5 hours later I had a beautifully golden, tender loaf of bread. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States