Blue Ribbon White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I have heard so many good things about this recipe I am going to try my hand at it. I have a convection oven so that eliminates the need for a pan of water and a proof setting on my oven also for rising dough. I may take advantage of others suggestions and use butter instead of shortening. Wish me luck, I'm not a yeast user so this should be interesting. I will post a review once its done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TVann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I make this every week- it's beautiful sandwich bread for the week's lunches. I used melted butter instead of shortening and don't add any additonal butter after cooking, nor do I put a pan of water in the oven. I heat my oven to about 200 degrees and then turn it off while I put the ingredients together- then I do the initial rising in my oven- nice warm, draft free spot for rising! I have non-stick pans, so I don't use any more butter or shortening for this step either. This is a beautiful, easy, no fail recipe! Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COURTNEYGRIFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I MADE BREAD! I have been trying to make successful yeast bread for 17 years with no luck at all. With this recipe, it worked. Two big poofy loaves, like magic! And the taste, oh my, HEAVENLY. It was so decadent with dinner. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Oh my word! This is marvelous bread! I didn't have any bread flour, so I used all purpose. I also used only butter...no shortening. Simply marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was far too sweet and flimsy to be considered a good versatile bread in my opinion. It did not hold together very well, and crumbled quickly. If you have a very sweet tooth and don't mind it falling apart this could be what you are looking for. If you are looking for a savory white loaf, this is not it. Two stars are for being true to it's "tender and creamy" claim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Pretty good; I like that it makes 2 loaves. I didn't bother with the water and it still came out fine. I like the texture - I do enjoy some of the other bread recipes I've tried better, though. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is the softest bread I've ever baked. I also doubled the yeast and used butter instead of shortening. It tastes similar to a croissant. I still brushed the loaves with butter and put a dish of water in the oven. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i love this recipe and so does anyone i make it for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judy pfouts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mapleton, Utah, USA
Living In: Payson, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This bread was wonderful! It came out beautifully. It is a bit dense, so I'm not sure how great it would be for sandwiches, but that's just my opinion. Others may love it as a sandwich bread. It is, however, the perfect bread for making french toast. It doesn't dry out like some breads can, and holds the flavor well. All in all, this bread was tasty, easy make, and a hit with my husband and kids, so its a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murray, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This bread recipe was another big step for me in making a more complicated recipe with yeast. It had more steps but really wasn't all that difficult, I came to discover. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer from the beginning, proofing my yeast in the bowl then using my hook to combine everything. I love having my Kitchen Aid, really cuts down on the kneading called for. I did have an issue with this bread rising. I followed the instructions directly and still struggled. I set the bread on a warm oven and covered the bowl with saran wrap and a towel and it didn't rise much. It baked up fine, so I guess it didn't matter all that much. I didn't bother with the water bowl in the oven because I only have one rack. Didn't seem to matter with my bread, still came out great. Texture and taste-wise, I'm on the fence. I am going to use it for the Garlic Bread Fantastique tonight and let the family tell me what they think. I think this might be good for french toast tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States