Blue Ribbon Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Perfect! Crunchy bottoms, chewy inside. I don't like to roll and cut cookies, and now I don't have to! These are pretty and delicious. I used 2 sticks of butter (easier than cutting a softened stick in half) and 3/4 cup oil. I took the advice of several other reviewers, and cut the lemon extract to 1 teaspoon. Next time, I'll use the full amount. The lemon flavor is a little too discreet for my taste. Another thing I did that was a little different than the directions was to dip the balls of dough into sugar, then flatten with a sugared glass. No sticking, no tearing, and extra sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Michels

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minot, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Charles City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These are crisp and crumbly. I liked them, but my family prefers a softer cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I just finished baking the 2nd of four trays of this recipe. We have all indulged in these straight off the pan and they are delicious! So far, this recipe is exactly what I was looking for in a sugar cookie recipe. One slight edit for my version was that I didn't have vegetable oil, so I melted butter flavor Crisco sticks and used these. I think its a winning substitution and am placing this recipe in the "keep and make these over and over" file. Buttery, soft, and a wonderful texture. I can't wait to see how they are the second day---if I can keep some around that long! I also only put in 1/2 tsp lemon extract and 2 tsp vanilla, knowing that I prefer a more vanilla centric sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
The holidays are my baking season and I make these cookies for co-workers. They were a big hit and one of our experienced bakers asked for the recipe stating she had lost the tea cake recipe she loved. She said she couldn't wait for her next day off to make them. I thank you and my co-workers thank you. They couldn't keep their hands out of the cookie jar. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
WOW! These cookies are so easy & they taste great! The lemon adds a little something extra. I've never had good luck with sugar cookies, but these turned out perfectly. My 5 year old daughter had a great time rolling up the dough & smashing it down with the glass :) We used green & red sugar for Christmas. So cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
So yummy! I didn't have any lemon extract and I wanted to use cookie cutters so I added about a cup more flour. I also didn't have any cream of tatar, so I just used baking soda and baking powder. They turned out SO soft and fluffy and delicious! I think my oven is just super hot, I only baked for about 7 min! But AWESOME nonetheless! Definitely making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CasiLynn07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I've made these cookies about 5 times now- they are sooo good! I used more vanilla and less lemon extract. Becareful not to overcook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redfield, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
very good and I don't like sugar cookies. Very soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
The best sugar cookies I have ever tasted! They turned out great! I used the decorator icing to frost them and my granddaughter gave them an A+! I will definitely make these for Christmas! Hats off to you, Angie, for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frogs&Fairytales
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Let me just start by saying...I am not a big fan of sugar cookies. These however are sooo good! I followed the recipe as stated but made a frosting to put on them instead of rolling them in sugar crystals. They are the perfect texture & so easy to make. I've made them several times & will be making them for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frogs&Fairytales

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States