Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe! I followed it exactly even though I was skeptical about leaving out a mixture of dough containing eggs out overnight, but I was determined to have these come out perfectly. Boy were these ever good and so easy too! The dough was easy to roll out (used wax paper lightly floured) and I cut it with a pizza cutter to get nice little triangles. I baked these on parchment paper and they came out nice and fluffy with a slight sweetness. My husband and niece just loved them and quite frankly I did too! Plus the leftovers are great for breakfast with butter and jelly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
I put all ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle; followed the directions from there and ended up with terrific rolls. I had a bit of trouble making them all look the same. My husband loved'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Light, fluffy, easy, delicious ~ and YUMMY! Couldn't ask for an easier recipe. You can cook them immediately, but I prefer to let them sit overnight as the recipe calls. They seem to come out fluffier. (not to mention the smell of fresh bread dough is simply wonderful on a cool fall morning!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I have this exact same recipe from one of my Gooseberry Patch cookbooks (Make-Ahead Dinner Rolls), and it says to prepare the dough, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to use. I have made these many, many times to my family's delight. I never made rolls from scratch before, but these couldn't be easier to prepare. The dough is very easy to work with. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
When you need to save some time in a busy day, being able to prepare the dough ahead is a real help. The rolls are really nice and light, draw lots of raves and requests to serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I baked these for Thanksgiving and everyone including myself loved them. They were light and very tasty, slighty sweet and buttery. I've been baking for about 35 years and am suprised at the negative reviews given. I have never made rolls that were as easy and that tasted as good. Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Like most bread, these were great just out of the oven with butter, but once they cooled, I felt they lacked flavor and were a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
These are the best! They are easy to make and can be timed to be baking while everyone is comming to the table, and thus you have piping hot rolls with dinner. Some of my family eat these instead of dessert with coffee. I have also used this dought to make cinnamon rolls. Cut the dough in half and roll each half into a 12"X9" rectangle,sprinkle the dough liberally with cinnamon sugar, and pecans and raisins if desired, Drizzle with 3 tablespoons of melted butter. Roll up, as for a jelly roll, and cut into 1" pieces, using thread works well for this. Place on a lightly oiled cookie sheet, cover and set on the counter overnight to rise. Whoever gets up to make the coffee pops them into the oven! Bake as directed in the original recipe. Oh it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made these rolls last year for my first holiday with the future in-laws. They were a BIG success, not one left! Very easy to make, and delicious! I brushed mine with melted butter and a sprinkle of garlic powder on top while baking for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
VERY GOOD!. Ever so slightly sweet, yet great with meat and potatoes! Made for Easter dinner and they were a hit. Make sure warm milk is not too hot to avoid killing the yeast and preventing it from rising. I had to use very little flour to roll out and cut the dough into wedges with a pizza cutter. I let them set for a few hours while at church-may want to wait until after church to roll out because they almost over rose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyKay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States