Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I'm giving this 5 stars even though I apparently didn't do it right, lol. First time "roll" baker, haha. I'm not sure what I did wrong or where I went wrong but the TASTE of this recipe was awesome, even though I pretty much made biscuits instead of rolls. Try, try again right? I think it was ME heating it too hot, actually. Great recipe though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Rehders

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lampasas, Texas, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
This is an excellent recipe that took me a few times to perfect. Measure carefully. Instead of 1 pkg yeast, I put in 2 level tsp. yeast as I thought the rolls tasted a bit yeasty. Heat the milk to about 100 F. I also add 1 tsp. vinegar to the bowl when I do step 2. Spoon the flour gently into measuring cup-do not pour or scoop or shake down. Next morning, I pat (not roll) the dough to about 3/4 inches and cut with 2 inch cookie cutter. Then you must let rise covered, in warm place until double. In my oven, I have to bake for 15 min. at 375 F. I make 2 recipes in separate bowls, as while you are making them, you may as well make lots. I freeze one batch. They are wonderful and light and very tasty. Thanks for the recipe Pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
These rolls are so great! No kneading required--and you can just let them wait until you're ready to bake them. I have another recipe that I like the taste of better, but when I need something low-maintenance, these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my family's favorite yeast roll. This year for the holidays, we made a double recipe in the morning. The turned out perfect as always. Don't let them rise too much or they are too "airy". Bake in a dark pan for a golden crust. Yeasty and delicous! Never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Easy and worked out amazingly well. Our dinner group loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My favorite rolls! I've been using this recipe for two years for all special occasion dinners... the only time these did not turn out was when I didn't get the milk warm enough for the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I put the bread batter together last night and put a towel over it. When I got ready to make loaves there was a crust over the batter and I "almost" threw it out but, I figured I would try it and if it didn't turn out good then I would toss it and let it go at that. I made the rolls and they are the BEST I have made!! The texture was so light and the taste of the rolls were delicious! There was no kneading of the batter, just to make the rolls. This is a favorite of mine now and I will make more of these delicious rolls for my family. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These are wonderful. My only changes were that I used a little less butter, bread flour, and made them into traditional roll shapes (balls) rather than rolling out. Also, after proofing the yeast, I put everything in the breadmaker-dough cycle- and let it do the work. I only let them raise for about an hour more than the cycle. I have made quite a few roll recipes from this site (my little boy loves rolls), and this is by far the best. I will definitely make these again, only next time with just a little less sugar. Thank you for the recipe! UPDATE: I have changed my rating to a 4. Last night I decided to make these rolls and let them rise overnight as directed, and I am not impressed. Like many others said, too yeasty. I will continue to make this recipe but definitely without the overnight rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are delicious!! I put it all in the bread machine on dough cycle and when done I took it out, rolled it , cut it and formed the rolls. Placed it on the baking sheet and baked.Very quick and easy!! No waiting overnight here they were perfect. Nice easy dough to work with too. Just used a little flour for the rolling. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States