Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by ROYSAPER
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Excellent and fairly easy recipe for fresh, warm dinner rolls. A big tip: when rolling out the dough, roll it on a floured surface and dust the rolling pin with flour; otherwise you may have a sticky mess! Also, I had everyone at the table by the time the first pan came out of the oven, and put the second pan of 12 in the oven at that time so when everyone was ready for seconds, they were right hot from the oven. Also, I reduced the temperature to 325 so they would not brown quite as quickly. Instead of putting on greased baking pans, I put the crescent-shaped rolls on brown parchment paper lined pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
I made these for Thanksgiving and they turned out great! I was careful not to let the milk get too hot, so the yeast foamed as it should. I dipped the rolls in butter before baking them, but I might try brushing on a little egg next time as they are baking. My domestic partner loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Very tasty and tender. I think I will try slathering the dough w/ a little butter before rolling into crescents. But they are good without the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by leelee
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
These rolls were delicious!!! Light and tasty :) I let mine "stand until ready to bake" for approximately 30 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
I have many roll recipes that I love but this one was so unusual I wanted to try it. After reading previous reviews which seem to be a combination of love or hate these rolls, I wasn't sure what to expect. They came out light and airy with a heavy yeast taste for me..which we loved. The dough was a joy to work with and the rolls turned out beautiful. I made 16 large crecent rolls and I think this dough would make fabulous cloverleaf rolls which I plan to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I WAS SO EXCITED ABOUT MAKING THESE AND THOUGHT THE RECIPE WAS VERY EASY.AFTER ALL NIGHT AND ALL DAY WAITING TO BAKE THESE FOR DINNER I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE RESULTS THEY WERE WAY TOO YEASTY I COULD BARELY FINISH ONE.E ENDED UP THROWING THEM OUT.MAYBE I LET THEM SIT TO LONG?I HAVE MADE ROLLS IN THE PAST BUT THEY HAVE NEVER TURNED OUT LIKE THESE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
These were good rolls, but i expected something much better based on all the rave reviews. I did have to add more flour b/c of all the humidity so maybe that contributed to the texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
These are as easy to make as they are delicious! I have made them twice with excellent results and I think they will become a staple at our holiday dinners. My only problem is that they are a little sweet for my taste. Some people loved the sweetness, but I am going to try cutting the sugar in half next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA
Living In: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
From the fist time I made this everyone just loves it. I always run. This recipe has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
these were alright. I won't make them again. Even though they were very easy and I thought I would save on time for my Thanksgiving meal, I'd rather do more work and be rewarded with a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States