Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent recipe! I followed it exactly even though I was skeptical about leaving out a mixture of dough containing eggs out overnight, but I was determined to have these come out perfectly. Boy were these ever good and so easy too! The dough was easy to roll out (used wax paper lightly floured) and I cut it with a pizza cutter to get nice little triangles. I baked these on parchment paper and they came out nice and fluffy with a slight sweetness. My husband and niece just loved them and quite frankly I did too! Plus the leftovers are great for breakfast with butter and jelly....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
I put all ingredients in my bread machine and set it on the dough cycle; followed the directions from there and ended up with terrific rolls. I had a bit of trouble making them all look the same. My husband loved'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Light, fluffy, easy, delicious ~ and YUMMY! Couldn't ask for an easier recipe. You can cook them immediately, but I prefer to let them sit overnight as the recipe calls. They seem to come out fluffier. (not to mention the smell of fresh bread dough is simply wonderful on a cool fall morning!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
When you need to save some time in a busy day, being able to prepare the dough ahead is a real help. The rolls are really nice and light, draw lots of raves and requests to serve them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
I have this exact same recipe from one of my Gooseberry Patch cookbooks (Make-Ahead Dinner Rolls), and it says to prepare the dough, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate until ready to use. I have made these many, many times to my family's delight. I never made rolls from scratch before, but these couldn't be easier to prepare. The dough is very easy to work with. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I baked these for Thanksgiving and everyone including myself loved them. They were light and very tasty, slighty sweet and buttery. I've been baking for about 35 years and am suprised at the negative reviews given. I have never made rolls that were as easy and that tasted as good. Thanks for the Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Like most bread, these were great just out of the oven with butter, but once they cooled, I felt they lacked flavor and were a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
I made these rolls last year for my first holiday with the future in-laws. They were a BIG success, not one left! Very easy to make, and delicious! I brushed mine with melted butter and a sprinkle of garlic powder on top while baking for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Hamilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
this is a great recipe i loved it so did my family i also added 3/4 cup of sugar it tasted great thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2002
My family all thought these were great and so easy to make. I just made mine in the morning. It doesn't really matter if you make them a couple of hours before you need them or several. Good both ways. Most breads taste best out of the oven so I just plan it that way. I think if people don't follow the directions exactly if where the problems come from. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States