Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe has allowed me to easily add homemade rolls to my Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. The recipe makes a large number (I confess we have had a couple holidays where I have had more than 20 coming so have doubled it!!!)and it is excellent. Everyone raves and this will always be part of my repetoire. Thanks for a great holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Unadilla, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
very good rolls, but not the best I've ever had. used 1 cup whole wheat and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Mmmmm... These rolls are so yummy!! I made them for my first Thanksgiving 3 years ago and have been making them for every holiday since because they are loved and requested!! I usually brush them with a little bit or margarine before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
They looked good, they were easy to make, but they had NO TASTE. I did not change the recipe at all, they rose beautifully, I even liked the yeast smell my kitchen had in the morning, but they are completely flavorless. I think this would be a great base for a cinnamon roll recipe, but they just are not good by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Holy moly, these were good! I stumbled upon this recipe this afternoon, thought it looked easy, and gave it a try. I had to halve it because I didn't have enough flour and they only got to rise for about 3 hours. I was making a pot roast though so I put the bowl on top of the stove and the dough rose just fine. I had to mix in a little more flour (about 1/4 cup) at the end, but after that the dough was perfect to work with. I brushed them with melted butter (you only need about a tablespoon for half a batch), baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes because I saw that they looked rather overdone in the pictures, and they were divine! Just a touch of golden brown, a little flaky, and a wonderful rich flavor with just a hint of sweetness. I'm so glad to have found this easy recipe and will make them repeatedly. Oh and for those whose rolls were too sour or yeasty tasting, I think you're letting the dough sit out too long. Try again but don't leave it as long. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
These came out excellent! Will do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I used 1 tbs of yeast instead of what it called for and my rolls were wonderful the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Did exactly what the directions said for this recipe. The next morning the dough was still very sticky and smelled VERY yeasty. Maybe because I used the required bread yeast amount for a regular yeast. I baked a few to try it out as is. The rolls were fermently bland-white and tasted a very yeasty. I put some more flour in the dough. Still...the baked rolls turned out the same, but at least it raised a bit in the oven. I was disappointed on the outcome. Again, maybe because I used bread yeast then regular yeast that it asked for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I made these for Easter dinner and everyone raved. They are easy and very tasty! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
This was an okay roll. The dough was very easy to work with, although I did have to add a little flour to ease the stickiness. It smelled really, really yeasty, and I got worried, but the flavor was okay. Everyone seemed to like it just fine. Good for first timers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States