Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my family's favorite yeast roll. This year for the holidays, we made a double recipe in the morning. The turned out perfect as always. Don't let them rise too much or they are too "airy". Bake in a dark pan for a golden crust. Yeasty and delicous! Never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Easy and worked out amazingly well. Our dinner group loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
My favorite rolls! I've been using this recipe for two years for all special occasion dinners... the only time these did not turn out was when I didn't get the milk warm enough for the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I put the bread batter together last night and put a towel over it. When I got ready to make loaves there was a crust over the batter and I "almost" threw it out but, I figured I would try it and if it didn't turn out good then I would toss it and let it go at that. I made the rolls and they are the BEST I have made!! The texture was so light and the taste of the rolls were delicious! There was no kneading of the batter, just to make the rolls. This is a favorite of mine now and I will make more of these delicious rolls for my family. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These are wonderful. My only changes were that I used a little less butter, bread flour, and made them into traditional roll shapes (balls) rather than rolling out. Also, after proofing the yeast, I put everything in the breadmaker-dough cycle- and let it do the work. I only let them raise for about an hour more than the cycle. I have made quite a few roll recipes from this site (my little boy loves rolls), and this is by far the best. I will definitely make these again, only next time with just a little less sugar. Thank you for the recipe! UPDATE: I have changed my rating to a 4. Last night I decided to make these rolls and let them rise overnight as directed, and I am not impressed. Like many others said, too yeasty. I will continue to make this recipe but definitely without the overnight rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gooddealmeg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These are delicious!! I put it all in the bread machine on dough cycle and when done I took it out, rolled it , cut it and formed the rolls. Placed it on the baking sheet and baked.Very quick and easy!! No waiting overnight here they were perfect. Nice easy dough to work with too. Just used a little flour for the rolling. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apollo, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving dinner and they were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These are great. I made them the morning of Thanksgiving for a small group and hardly any are left (they'll make for good leftover sandwiches, they were that big!) I had problems proofing the yeast in the milk, though. I had to throw out my yeast the first two times, as the recipe didn't really say how warm for the milk to be. I also lost my thermometer to gauge its temperature, so that was a waste of some yeast and sugar. What I ended up doing was taking hot water from the faucet (about half a cup) and combined it with about half a tablespoon of yeast, and a third of the sugar in the recipe. I had a warmed oven turned off, and let it sit in there for about 35 minutes. Once it proofed and got bubbly, I added in all the remaining ingredients. More flour is a definite need if you want to roll it out between wax sheets, so it won't stick. I let it rise for about 5 hours, then rolled them out, cut them up and let them rise another hour on the sheets. I melted about a quarter cup of butter to brush on the rolls, and cooked them for around 11 minutes. They came out really fluffy and soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These were wonderful. I used my bread machine to mix the dough and then wrapped the dough up and put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I took the dough out and left it covered with a towel to warm to room tempature before I divided the dough and baked them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Not too bad, definitely yeasty. Rolled out well and rose very well in oven. Just tasted kind of bland. Will be making another roll to take to thanksgiving today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States