Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are good, but I notice that they don't seem to taste very good cold, so if you have leftovers, pop them in the microwave for 15-30 seconds before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This did not turn out well for me. I am biscuit and roll challenged however. I will try these again and rerate. I think I am the problem and not the recipe however. The taste was great but they were hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I had low expectations, especially in the morning. The dough was a sticky, lumpy mess, but I didn't have a backup plan. I oiled my hands, rolled the dough into little coils, brushed them with butter, sprinkled with coarse salt, let them rise, slammed 'em in the oven. Man, oh man, were they good! The salt and butter really made them though, because they were a good contrast to the sweetness of the roll. Will definitely make these again and see if lightning strikes twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I hate giving bad reviews, especially when there are so many good ones. Something went wrong for me here, obviously. We made these for Christmas dinner and they were the only flop. Everything else was so good and the bread was not! The dough was sticky and very yeasty smellling. We went ahead and used it and the resulting rolls were flat and had an odd taste. Definitely yeasty. My hubby and mom both said that they tasted like a bad(!) attempt at sourdough. I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made these today for our Christmas brunch. First time I've ever made rolls, and they came out spectacular! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Tastes great! HELP for cold, wet climates to rescue unrising dough: activate a new mixture of yeast, sugar, water per yeast's instructions. Once frothy and ready, begin mixing in old dough...first a golf ball sized lump, one by one, until 1/2 your dough is incorporated. Then add remainder of dough until mixed together, knead, cover and let rise. If you have a slightly warm oven, close and let rise in there. Keep covered with wax paper or plastic wrap in lightly oiled bowl to keep moist and easy to release.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The little dough boy just stopped giggling! He's going to go out of business because these are what Pillsbury crescent rolls aspire to be. These are so easy (no kneading, yes!), I couldn't believe how good they turned out. Next time I will roll in a little cream cheese and jam, or maybe cocktail wieners and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Easy, beautiful and a big hit. Everyone loved them for Thanksgiving. I thought they were a bit sweet, but great texture and following the recipe to the "t" made this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I thought they were ok... just like regular rolls... although I do have to say that my family loved them... at least more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
These were great. I'm a first time roll maker and these turned out perfectly and were really easy. I added a little extra milk to make the dough hold together better. I liked the yeasty taste, as did my family, it wasn't too much and that's what makes them taste homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States