Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These are great. I made them the morning of Thanksgiving for a small group and hardly any are left (they'll make for good leftover sandwiches, they were that big!) I had problems proofing the yeast in the milk, though. I had to throw out my yeast the first two times, as the recipe didn't really say how warm for the milk to be. I also lost my thermometer to gauge its temperature, so that was a waste of some yeast and sugar. What I ended up doing was taking hot water from the faucet (about half a cup) and combined it with about half a tablespoon of yeast, and a third of the sugar in the recipe. I had a warmed oven turned off, and let it sit in there for about 35 minutes. Once it proofed and got bubbly, I added in all the remaining ingredients. More flour is a definite need if you want to roll it out between wax sheets, so it won't stick. I let it rise for about 5 hours, then rolled them out, cut them up and let them rise another hour on the sheets. I melted about a quarter cup of butter to brush on the rolls, and cooked them for around 11 minutes. They came out really fluffy and soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
These were wonderful. I used my bread machine to mix the dough and then wrapped the dough up and put it in the fridge overnight. The next morning, I took the dough out and left it covered with a towel to warm to room tempature before I divided the dough and baked them. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Not too bad, definitely yeasty. Rolled out well and rose very well in oven. Just tasted kind of bland. Will be making another roll to take to thanksgiving today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This recipe has allowed me to easily add homemade rolls to my Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners. The recipe makes a large number (I confess we have had a couple holidays where I have had more than 20 coming so have doubled it!!!)and it is excellent. Everyone raves and this will always be part of my repetoire. Thanks for a great holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Unadilla, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
very good rolls, but not the best I've ever had. used 1 cup whole wheat and turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Mmmmm... These rolls are so yummy!! I made them for my first Thanksgiving 3 years ago and have been making them for every holiday since because they are loved and requested!! I usually brush them with a little bit or margarine before baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
They looked good, they were easy to make, but they had NO TASTE. I did not change the recipe at all, they rose beautifully, I even liked the yeast smell my kitchen had in the morning, but they are completely flavorless. I think this would be a great base for a cinnamon roll recipe, but they just are not good by themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Holy moly, these were good! I stumbled upon this recipe this afternoon, thought it looked easy, and gave it a try. I had to halve it because I didn't have enough flour and they only got to rise for about 3 hours. I was making a pot roast though so I put the bowl on top of the stove and the dough rose just fine. I had to mix in a little more flour (about 1/4 cup) at the end, but after that the dough was perfect to work with. I brushed them with melted butter (you only need about a tablespoon for half a batch), baked them at 350 for about 18 minutes because I saw that they looked rather overdone in the pictures, and they were divine! Just a touch of golden brown, a little flaky, and a wonderful rich flavor with just a hint of sweetness. I'm so glad to have found this easy recipe and will make them repeatedly. Oh and for those whose rolls were too sour or yeasty tasting, I think you're letting the dough sit out too long. Try again but don't leave it as long. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
These came out excellent! Will do these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
I used 1 tbs of yeast instead of what it called for and my rolls were wonderful the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States