Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I hate giving bad reviews, especially when there are so many good ones. Something went wrong for me here, obviously. We made these for Christmas dinner and they were the only flop. Everything else was so good and the bread was not! The dough was sticky and very yeasty smellling. We went ahead and used it and the resulting rolls were flat and had an odd taste. Definitely yeasty. My hubby and mom both said that they tasted like a bad(!) attempt at sourdough. I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Made these today for our Christmas brunch. First time I've ever made rolls, and they came out spectacular! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Tastes great! HELP for cold, wet climates to rescue unrising dough: activate a new mixture of yeast, sugar, water per yeast's instructions. Once frothy and ready, begin mixing in old dough...first a golf ball sized lump, one by one, until 1/2 your dough is incorporated. Then add remainder of dough until mixed together, knead, cover and let rise. If you have a slightly warm oven, close and let rise in there. Keep covered with wax paper or plastic wrap in lightly oiled bowl to keep moist and easy to release.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
The little dough boy just stopped giggling! He's going to go out of business because these are what Pillsbury crescent rolls aspire to be. These are so easy (no kneading, yes!), I couldn't believe how good they turned out. Next time I will roll in a little cream cheese and jam, or maybe cocktail wieners and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Easy, beautiful and a big hit. Everyone loved them for Thanksgiving. I thought they were a bit sweet, but great texture and following the recipe to the "t" made this one a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I thought they were ok... just like regular rolls... although I do have to say that my family loved them... at least more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
These were great. I'm a first time roll maker and these turned out perfectly and were really easy. I added a little extra milk to make the dough hold together better. I liked the yeasty taste, as did my family, it wasn't too much and that's what makes them taste homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Very good, though a bit sweet. Next time I will add a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Great right out of the oven. A little heavy after cooling but still a great flavor. It's fantastic to be able to prepare the dough the night before. I split the dough in half, made twelve rolls with one half and with the other half, i made a small loaf of bread that i just shaped and cooked on a baking sheet. Oh, i added 1 1/2 teas. salt as i find most bread recipes are better with a little extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was a great, easy recipe. I made some dough this morning for dinner, and those rolls were so good, I made two more batches before bed: one for cinnamon rolls in the morning, the other for pigs in blankets for lunch. I took the advice of others and cut the sugar slightly (to a scant 1/3 cup), used only 2 teaspoons of yeast instead of a whole envelope, plus I used a thermometer to make sure the milk was just the right temperature for the yeast. This dough was so easy to make and easy to work with, it will definitely be added to my regular line up. I love the fact that you can make it in advance and NO KNEADING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States