Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I didn't let these sit out overnight (didn't want to sicken my dinner guests), but maybe that's why I wasn't impressed with the end result. I dunno. The taste was just okay, the dough was very, very sticky. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The rolls did rise good overnight. It was an easy recipe because there was no kneading and really not a whole lot of work. The texture was good they were big & fluffy. . All you could smell or taste was yeast! I guess letting it sit overnight made the milk and eggs sour. I thought adding the butter to the yeast mixture would give it a nice buttery taste but I was wrong you could not taste the butter at all. Maybe if you topped the rolls with butter after baking in the oven it might make it taste a little better.We didn't care for them at all and I never plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
How easy it was to get compliments with these! Love that they do not take up room in the fridge as most overnight rolls do. As suggested by many others, used 2 teaspoons of yeast and made sure the milk was 100 degrees when adding to yeast and sugar. Mixed together with dough hook. The next day, rolled out large rolls with buttered hands and placed in Pam-ed muffin cups. Covered and allowed to rise at least an hour. Everyone loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
YUM!YUM! YUM! The perfect dough to make my pepperoni rolls! I will, however, cut the sugar back to at least 1/4 cup - a bit too sweet for the ppepperoni rolls, but the exact texture and consistancy I was looking for! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Nice rolls. I made them with filling of apricot and a little applesauce. Came out great. I liked the idea of overnight rest. Will make those again, Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I wanted to give these a five stars, but there were some things not noted in the directions that really disappointed me. I've noticed that reviewers have pointed out to not make the milk too hot (as it will kill the yeast), but one thing not really mentioned was to not make the milk too cold either (about 100 degrees F). The second thing I'd like to point out is to still add salt, though you could cut back a little, when using salted butter. I found that all the sugar in the rolls really cover up the salt in the butter-- either that or you can cut back on the sugar. The third thing is when the recipe calls for .25oz of yeast, it means 2 1/4 teaspoons. I must agree with others that they were only good when fresh. The flavour was great, the flaw was the rising of the yeast. You must let it really proof, and when I say proof, I mean really proof. Let the yeast start foaming. That's one of the biggest problems when making bread. I probably won't try this again, but for others who plan on giving this a shot, hope this helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These are the best rolls I have ever made! They were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
OMGoodnes! These are phenomenal! Only thing I did different was make the dough in my bread machine, I also added 4 tsps vital gluten since I used all purpose flour. I cut the dough into 20 pieces and rolled into balls, placed the dough in greased muffin tins and let rise, covered for 1 hour. Brushed with butter before baking for 20 minutes at 350 degrees and brushed again when I removed from the oven. I just devoured 3 with apricot jam, I think I found my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I followed the recipe as stated, but ran into some problems. First of all, the dough got bigger than expected overnight and busted out of the wax paper onto the counter. Also, the dough stuck terribly to the wax paper (and counter) and was a pain to remove. In truth, the bread really didn't taste as good as other rolls I've made. I would use this recipe again if pushed for time, but would put way more wax paper down and spray it with pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States