Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Nice rolls. I made them with filling of apricot and a little applesauce. Came out great. I liked the idea of overnight rest. Will make those again, Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I wanted to give these a five stars, but there were some things not noted in the directions that really disappointed me. I've noticed that reviewers have pointed out to not make the milk too hot (as it will kill the yeast), but one thing not really mentioned was to not make the milk too cold either (about 100 degrees F). The second thing I'd like to point out is to still add salt, though you could cut back a little, when using salted butter. I found that all the sugar in the rolls really cover up the salt in the butter-- either that or you can cut back on the sugar. The third thing is when the recipe calls for .25oz of yeast, it means 2 1/4 teaspoons. I must agree with others that they were only good when fresh. The flavour was great, the flaw was the rising of the yeast. You must let it really proof, and when I say proof, I mean really proof. Let the yeast start foaming. That's one of the biggest problems when making bread. I probably won't try this again, but for others who plan on giving this a shot, hope this helps a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
These are the best rolls I have ever made! They were devoured.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Scott Lakin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
OMGoodnes! These are phenomenal! Only thing I did different was make the dough in my bread machine, I also added 4 tsps vital gluten since I used all purpose flour. I cut the dough into 20 pieces and rolled into balls, placed the dough in greased muffin tins and let rise, covered for 1 hour. Brushed with butter before baking for 20 minutes at 350 degrees and brushed again when I removed from the oven. I just devoured 3 with apricot jam, I think I found my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I followed the recipe as stated, but ran into some problems. First of all, the dough got bigger than expected overnight and busted out of the wax paper onto the counter. Also, the dough stuck terribly to the wax paper (and counter) and was a pain to remove. In truth, the bread really didn't taste as good as other rolls I've made. I would use this recipe again if pushed for time, but would put way more wax paper down and spray it with pam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Delicious! I have made this dough at least 20 times now for everything from dinner rolls to stromboli to cinnamon rolls to monkey bread. If using for as a sweet dough, it does not need to rise overnight. The yeast flavor becomes a little overwhelming. As a savory application, they don't get any better than this! This is my families new favorite roll, and is requested at all gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gower, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
I don't know why this recipe would get bad reviews--the people who said they were dense, too yeasty, etc. must have done something wrong. These rolls are GREAT! Super easy, had everything on hand, and I will DEFINITELY make them again and again. I've been looking for a recipe that makes soft, yeasty rolls, and this is it. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm adding this one to my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maurertown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These are amazing! Everyone I have made them for go crazy over them! I have to make them all the time! They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
These are good, but I notice that they don't seem to taste very good cold, so if you have leftovers, pop them in the microwave for 15-30 seconds before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This did not turn out well for me. I am biscuit and roll challenged however. I will try these again and rerate. I think I am the problem and not the recipe however. The taste was great but they were hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States