Blue Ribbon Overnight Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I just made a half batch of these for the first time, and they turned out great. I started the dough and had it to the "rising" stage by 8 AM, formed the rolls after seven hours, then let them rest for an hour before baking to have fresh rolls for dinner. They are very good as is, but I think I'll add some Italian seasoning and/or garlic salt the next time I make them, as there is definitely some room for tweaking depending upon when you want to serve them. I'm interested to see how they hold up after they've had a chance to cool off. I can definitely see how, if serving to a crowd, one would likely not ever get the chance to find out. Fresh out of the oven, they are pretty irresistible. One caveat, tho...I'd be leery of making this dough in our hotter climate of the summer months. I think if I make these during the summer, I'll either not let the dough sit as long before baking, or I'll do a longer, slower rise in the fridge. I peeked at the dough after three hours, and the rise at seven hours didn't seem to be much greater, so maybe the longer rise isn't crucial for success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
very tasty and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
so easy and heavenley delicious. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Followed this recipe almost to a T (only thing I did differently was..I couldnt find my rolling pin...so I had to roll them into traditional rolls). I'm sure this is the reason why it had an almost biscut like texture and wasnt fluffy. They were still good though and the family almost polished all of them off at Thanksgiving. Will make again and roll them into the traditional Butterhorn shape (which is what this recipe is..Butterhorn rolls!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 79SHALE97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These turned out very soft and nice, but they were a little sour. I ended up letting the dough rise for 24 hours, which was too long. Next time, I think I will make and bake them the same day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Really good. I don't follow the overnight instructions. I give them about 4-5 hours instead and they still turn out PERFECT. The dough is easy to work with. I've made them several times this way with the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was absolutely THE BEST and easiest recipe for yeast rolls that I have ever made! Super easy to put together; I left them on the counter for at least 15-16 hours. Made two very light and puffy balls, rolled out the dough and made the crescents. Let them sit for an hour or so and baked. SUPER light and flavorful!!! I am going to make another batch for our Thanksgiving dinner on Sunday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Turned out beautifully made following the directions. Everyone loved them; served with real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These were super simple to make. I loved the cosistency of the dough and ease of preparation. My family loved them, but like other reviewers, I personally thought there was something missing in the taste as compared with normal homemade dinner roll recipes. I plan to try it again with margarine, as I don't usually use butter for baking and didn't know if that was why I didn't care for the flavor. The other option might be to add more salt, but I think that might affect the rising of the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Great recipe! Because there is no kneading involved it might be the best recipe for the new to yeast cook. They look lovely and taste good. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States