Blue Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
UPDATE: THIS MADE A LOT, SO I TOOK SOME TO MY MOM & DAD (MOM LOVES MY TRAD. CRANBERRY SAUCE & ASKS ME TO MAKE IT EVERY TDAY). SURPRISINGLY, THEY DID NOT CARE FOR THIS. BOTH FELT IT WAS TOO SPICY (???). OK, here's the deal. I've recently had a hankering for cran relish (guess I didn't get enough of it during the holidays lol). I purchased quite a few 12 oz. bags of fresh cranberries while they were on sale back in Nov. as I was planning to make a LOT of cranberry dishes. Sadly, I never got around to making any of them.... I froze what I had, so that it would be easy to take out what I needed when I needed to (I forgot to thaw for this recipe, so I ran my bag under lukewarm H2O for 5 min. or so). I am hoping to make a slow cooked turkey next wk. I want to serve it w/ all the fixins' - cran sauce, stuffing, dinner rolls, etc. I figure, if I don't get around to making this in the next coming wk., I'll just freeze this until I need it. I must admit I was not sure I was going to like this at all, initially. I am not a fan of cooked blueberries (although I enjoy them fresh), but was so intrigued, I had to give this a try. I am soooo glad I did! The spices are AWESOME (they make the dish)!!! The blueberries are a surprisingly nice add. And if you sub. OJ for the H2O called for (I always do this), this is extra super yummy!!!! I still prefer Holiday Cranberry Sauce (MARJK), but this is a close 2nd! Thanks for sharing, Connie! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This was excellent! I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
My DH made this recipe for thanksgiving. we really loved it ! was a bit too much cinnamon, but that have have been my husbands heavy hand! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
It turned out fantastic! I made two batches - I added raspberries and blackberries to the second batch. The cranberry sauce the first thing to go on Thanskgiving - absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunsweet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
The best cranberry sauce ever!!!! It was so-o-o easy to make, and tasted even better the next day, allowing the spices to infuse longer in with the fruit. (I did add a cup of sugar instead of the 1/2 cup recommended.) Ohh, it is wonderful - it tastes and smells like Christmas. I'd definitely give this recipe a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaVonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is the best cranberry sauce I've ever made or eaten. I followed the recipe to a tee and it is awesome. I will make this from now on! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've used this every year since I discovered it five years ago, and it's always delicious. I use 1 cup of sugar (instead of 1/2), freshly grated nutmeg, and fresh squeezed orange juice instead of water. I've tried adding raspberries, and it's great that way. This year I added the arils of one pomegranate instead (with the pint of blueberries), and it's my favorite so far. I do use frozen berries, since they're out of season, and frozen berries are juicier this time of year. Highly recommended recipe! Leftovers: add a spoonful or two to cold sparkling water for a delicious drink. The kids LOVE this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Enjoyed this. Made this last year, and will do so again this year. Makes plenty, to share as gifts with your neighbors too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Delicious, easy to make, everyone loved it. It is now a Thanks Giving tradition : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
OUTSTANDING!!!!! Everyone loved it! I substituted the sugar with maple syrup to make it a nice healthy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States